Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Head Light Bulb Changer
847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you use the credit card readers (that attach via USB to a phone or tablet) to accept payment? I was thinking about getting one for payments on small jobs. I have no experience using one, but I'm thinking it would be a nice option to give a client.

From my (uneducated) point of view -

Pros -
A nice option for the HO
Seem more professional
Not worrying about a check bouncing

Cons -
How long to get paid by CC company?
What if they dispute the charges? (even for something as simple as a chip in paint or fingerprints on something)
How much % do they charge?

For anyone using one, I would like to hear about your experiences and also recommended companies/products to use.

·
Registered
403 Posts
2.75% For Square which seems to be the most popular since they were the first and a smidgen less for others

Pay anywhere, go payment, paypal, quicken in on it now too.

I look at it last month and concluded the large amounts we run in the 4 and 5 figures does not make sense with the holds and the costs.

Smaller 3 and 3 figure transactions seem to love it. Use the search. There are many many threads on it here on this forum

Some have a second option where it's about thirty a month and then the percentage drops 1% and then if you don't swipe and key in transactions, it goes back up. That's the quick and dirty. Google will give you all the options on page one results. I just tried and see Capital One is in the game now too. Didn't see them last month.

It's a fast growing industry.

·
Registered
111 Posts
I have a square, I've only used it a few times in 2 years, but it's an option for the homeowners
I agree. It's nice to have the option to offer homeowners the option to pay with a credit card. I think it also reflects on our professionalism as a company.

·
Head Light Bulb Changer
847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·