Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
820 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently a general contractor in Nashville, Tn. I am moving to Dallas will be swapping my license over and am wondering if I am allowed to in Dallas the same things that I am allowed to do in Tennessee. A Tennessee general contractor is allowed to do a the entire building except for the plumbing, electrical and HVAC/ mechanical. Is Texas the same way?

Will I be allowed to dig my foundation, lay the block and frame side and roof the houses in Dallas Texas with a general contractor license?

I really don't like subbing anything I don't have to.

·
Super Moderator
29,290 Posts
Yes to all. State wide as far as I know. Just licensed MEPs here.

Reactions: bluebird5

·
Super Moderator
29,290 Posts
Mechanical (HVAC) Electrical and plumbing. Commercial slang

Forgot Irrigation. Its licensed too. Even for repairs.

·
Super Moderator
29,290 Posts
Thats what I thought. Makes me feel dumb for asking such a thing.
Not at all. Lots of different lingo out there for the same stuff.

·
Super Moderator
29,290 Posts
Hill Country, Highland Lakes.

Central Texas

·
Gen. Contractor
3,194 Posts
I lived/ framed in the metroplex (Dallas, fort worth, Arlington) it was some of the most fun I've had In my career. Pretty competitive though- I was framing high end homes in gated community's- freakin loved it. It's where I learned to hand stack roof. Did lots of 2 story all brick homes with tile roofs, cut up like I never saw in Utah. You'll like it :)

·
Super Moderator
29,290 Posts
Kings of Marchitecture. Build quality isn't great, but they build a lot of houses and make a lot of money last I knew.
I meant Central Texas :laughing: Dont move here!

Dont know anything about Centex Homes.

·
Professional Contractor
58 Posts
Dallas is booming. But being from Tennessee not sure how good you're Spanish is but you're gonna need it.