Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there gentlemen,
well, here's my story, any general advice would be super appreciated.
I am 24 years old...i've worked in masonry with family from the time i was about 12 years old every now and then, and then all through college and up until 5 months ago. 5 months ago I took a job in New York City in advertising, which is what I majored in at college. To put it bluntly, I hate the job, hate the commute, and HATE the pay, it's peanuts (and prob would be for the next year or 2).
I LOVE working with my hands, and I am a skilled brick/concrete/stone mason, I know the trade. I am currently considering getting back into construction next March '06 (winter is slow in masonry), working for the family business, and then a year later going in business on my own.
I guess my question to all of you would be, how successful can I be owning my own construction business. I am in the Northeast...NJ. I KNOW i can make a living, but I really want to be well-off. I know it sounds superficial...but I just want the best for myself. I also don't want to feel like I wasted 4 years of college! LOL.
I'm leaning towards going back to what I LIKE to do...layin' brick!
Guys, thanks for your advice.

-T.C.

·
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
1,645 Posts
Sounds to me like you answered our own questions. You HATE the job, you LOVE working with your hands, you are skilled in and enjoy masonry etc.

As far as making good money, I personally think that, as long as you're willing to work hard at it, ANY business owner should make more than ANY person working for someone else. If not, why would anyone own a company?

BTW, don't think of it as wasted time in college. Your mind may always be willing to do masonry, but you better get your body's opinion on the matter :cheesygri

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re:

Thanks!