Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Remodeler
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure how well known Anderson patio doors are across the country but I'd like to make everyone know how AWFUL they are.

Living in MN in the flight path of Minneapolis airport, the Metropolitan Airport Commission (MAC) gives money for sound improvements (windows, doors, insulation, etc). I chose a new front door, swinging patio door, and sliding patio door. The work is contracted through Renewal by Anderson, so, even as a contractor, I was stuck having them install Anderson products.

The front door was Therma-Tru and no issues there. The swinging patio door is Anderson and other than their stupid locking system (hold handle up to lock door) it is fine as well.

The sliding patio door is the issue. It glides beautifully. It looks great.
It cannot be closed shut from the outside. That's right. The door will lock tightly with the latch ONLY from the inside. When exiting the door to the outside, the best you can do is slide it within 3/4" closed. I've had several conversations with a supervisor and have had Anderson service rep come out as well. The verdict- "It is designed to lock tight with the latch from inside". Absolute ridiculous. The value for the installation and the door was $1700. I could have gotten a $500 Home Depot special that at least closes.

I've installed Marvin, Pella, and Anderson. Anderson is by far the worst designed product. Wouldn't recommend Anderson to anyone.

·
Remodeling Professionals
1,267 Posts
Whoa there! Give it some time and the weatherstripping will loosen up a bit. All Andersen sliders act this way when new, the operating panel has to be shoved into the closed position and if you don't throw the latch it will pop open 1/2" or so. Does seem ridiculous but at least they don't leak. Make sure the latch side jamb is not bowed out in the middle, that will make it worse.

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts