Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was talking to my banker today and he told me about the America's Recovery Capitol ARC SBA loan. It sounds like something that could actually help out us contractors.

It is basically a interest free loan up to $35,000 dollars. Here is a link for more info http://www.sbaarcloans.org/

I have an appointment with my banker on Friday. I will let you all know how it goes.

Mark

·
Registered
23 Posts
Not to burst anyone’s bubble, but this ARC thing is a joke. Like most things the government is doing these days, it’s mired in bureaucratic red tape and banks are having a difficult time disbursing these loans due to an insane amount of paperwork and BS.

I do volunteer work for SCORE, so I’m familiar with these loans, but I’m not an expert like an SBA rep. First of all, you have to be an existing business for more than two years, but they’ll favor longer than that. Second of all, you have to show through tax records that you were profitable the past 2 years, and not just a penny into the black, but actual profits. Being profitable the last 2 years is the only thing that makes sense in the program. The rest is just a quagmire that will more than likely result in government noose around your neck.

But honestly, if you can pull off getting your bank to do one of these loans for you, and it makes sense for you, then go for it. You’re paying for it with your taxes anyways.

·
Registered
74 Posts