Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello new to posting, but been reading for 1yr now. My question is if I am underpaid I am an employee for a contractor and have pretty much been his apprentice for 2.5 years. Here is what he has taught me I can do these without his further instruction (he can tell me what needs to be done and i do it)...framing with the exception of roofs, drywall, taping, base and shoe, crown, chair rail, railings, deck construction start to finish, tile work, doors and windows, casings, cabinet installation, hardwood, vinyl and pergo type floors, i cant figure and cut stairs on my own yet, skylights and solar tubes, siding, fencing, pergolas....what im trying to say is that i know there is more to learn but am i being paid fair....in the 2.5 years we went from a 4 man crew to just the boss and I, i do 80% of the physical work and i make $14.00 an hour..thx for your help..........this is just to see if im in the ballpark..

·
Registered
83 Posts
Sounds to me like you work for the kinda guy I started out with as a rookie, one of those anything-and-everything guys. I got paid about half what you make doing all that for him back in the early 90's, only big difference is that I did roughly 100% of all the work...LOL

I would see my boss once a week or so when he showed up to tell me what needed to be done and then pull a Chevy Chase from Caddyshack, "I'd like to stay but...I have a thing..." and leave. If I needed materials I called the lumber yard and put it on his account and had it sent out, if I needed equipment Id do the same and charge it to him....and show up at his place every 2 weeks to have him cut me a check.