Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,

I always have a problem pricing jobs. I have a basement to paint. Bedroom, small bathroom and a big recroom, three doors and three windows and casings and baseboard. I am also painting ceilings. I would like to know how you guys price jobs right. Please share your ways.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,374 Posts
How much experience do you have doing the actual work because If you can't figure that out than maybe you shouldn't be in business for yourself.

·
Super Moderator
24,412 Posts
Labor + Material + Overhead + Profit=Cost.

You MUST know your numbers to be profitable.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How much experience do you have doing the actual work because If you can't figure that out than maybe you shouldn't be in business for yourself.
I have been doing it for 5 years but I have never priced a job because I work for a company. Sometimes, I get jobs on the side but I cannot tell the price. I am always cheap lol.

·
Super Moderator
24,412 Posts
If you have been painting that long you have a real good idea how long it will take.

Add the other determining factors in and you have your cost.

If this is out of your wheelhouse quit bidding side work.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
If you have been painting that long you have a real good idea how long it will take.

Add the other determining factors in and you have your cost.

If this is out of your wheelhouse quit bidding side work.
I agree with you. I know how long jobs take me to finish and I am here asking to learn more, Sir. Lol

·
Super Moderator
24,412 Posts
Ok, so now you need to know the amount of materials you will need. Not just paint but all the misc stuff that goes with it.

Tape, paper, drop cloths, solvent, brushes, rollers etc etc. Also time spent buying paint and materials.