Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
U

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new in the business and am looking to expand some of my services to include aeration, and fertilization. Does it matter when you aerate? I imagine spring is best. Should I seed at the same time? And finally, what should I charge for the service? I saw how much a commercial co. charged and was blown away by the costs. It seems very profitable.....Thanks for the responses!

Simon

·
Registered
46 Posts
well i would talk with some golf course superintendents since they get degrees in that grass growing stuff. LOL but the golf course i worked at did aeration twice a year. they did all their own stuff but some small courses did not do it at all, it might be worth hitting them up for aeration service a time or 2 a year

U

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
PLlease ignore both posts above.

Aeration is a great money maker.

Aeration, aerifies the soild and reduces compaction. This helps roots get vital nutrients, air, and aids in water drainage. It also helps break down the thatch layer.

The best time to aerate is in the fall, and when doing so, this is a great time too add seed, fertilizer, lime, or any soil additvie.

Now there is also a trick to this you might never hear about, you want to do this when it is activily gorwing, and the turf has time to recover so it is not stresses from summer heat.

Cool season grass in late summer to fall and warm season grass late summer.

You don't want to do it before the heat hits cause many tie the grass is stress from excesive rain fall, everyone want to go spend some time outside from being cooped up in from the cold winter.

Pricing is about $4-8 per 1000 sqft of turf area. with a minimum of about $75

You can rent a wb aerator pretty cheap, just line up a few to do in one day to make some real dough.

Here is an excerts from my brouchure