Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening all,
I am in need of some advice. I am working on a small commercial project at the moment and have had a ridiculous run of bad luck with staff. I mobilized on Tuesday and started to install silt fence after a meeting, had to take wed off due to state testing. Back at it on Thursday after having a laborer go out with a blown knee, and had 2 operators quit on wed evening. I am down to me and one laborer until I rehire, this project has a 4 month completion deadline and the site super is freaking out (understandable) I am a sub. I have called in a couple of favors for tomorrow, but realistically am looking at the better part of a week until I am back to staffed if I can find some people, It is fall push. As a business owner I am wondering what to do, as a person I am a stubborn MF but that is not always a good thing. I want to try to hunker down and get it done however it is possible, but murphy is already starting to get me, just paid to haul out 25 loads of topsoil because of some trees that the state likes. As a GC would you want to hear early on that things are going to drag on, or no.
What I have to do:
Basement dig, 70x 100 5ft avg cut 1 ft of dewatering, 46 7x7 piers inside
Sink 10gal water tank
Water, sewer and lights
build a road(150ft)
some sidewalks and slabs
firetruck turnaround

Anybody need some work?:laughing:

what would you do, I have 5 resumes I have called on today, have spoken to the GC about my staffing problems and have called everybody I know asking for help. I dont know what else to do.
Thanks,
John

·
Registered
4 Posts
I would stop giving him information that he can use against you at a later date.