Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a new member to contractor connection. I have worked in the industry for the past 12 years in different capacities from assistant superintendent to director of construction. I recently decided to venture out and start my own company. I luckily had 3 jobs requested of me from individuals that I had previously known but these jobs were completely random and are not sustainable. All of the marketing research and information that I have read states +/- 80% of contracting work comes from referrals and individuals with whom you have already had dealings with. My questions is this. How does a contractor starting from scratch attain their first few jobs? This relates to the light commercial and custom home market. For information, my company focuses in the 200K to 2Mil segment. Below are the steps that I have assumed I should take. Any info would be helpful. I would like to know how other individuals started and grew their business.

-Deliver marketing material to architects and engineers to establish a relationship to be added to their invitation to bid lists.
-Deliver marketing material to commercial realtors to be referred for new construction and tenant build-out to their client base.
-Deliver marketing material to residential realtors for buyers looking to build a custom home.
-Place bandit signs at strategic area around town .

Fundamental question is how does a contractor acquire their first project and grow from their? Any insight would be helpful. Thanks.

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts
Fake it til you make it.

Might need to buy some work doing it at cost.

What is your online component?

Billboards for brand. Online for contact.