Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Pro Painter
2,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I have a few q's I want to ask. I am a painter, so I would like opinions mostly relative to painting, but it does pertain to all trades I suppose.

First, when I bid my jobs, I usually do one all inclusive price and take payments in thirds. My question is, do any of you (painters) give your customer's an invoice explaining each charge in the cost of the work, or do you just give one price and leave it at that?

The reason I ask the invoicing question is accounting! I have Quick Books Pro, but I'm not exactly sure how to USE this tool to help me better understand and control my companies finances, heh! I would simply like to keep track of progress payments, materials, equipment, overhead, receivables, payables..the broad basics. Do I need to have an invoicing system set up to properly track all materials etc..?? :eek: Now I don't know where I'm going with my post, lol!

Basically, can someone give me a good idea of how to handle these things efficiently and tell me what if any benefits may be of invoicing each individual part of a job?

·
Registered
438 Posts
I started uot with a real cheap program, (My Invoices) it does all that you are asking, however at times it gives me some trouble.
We run both programs now as I am no into the quickbook design, my daugther runs the quickbooks for me and does all of the invoiceing from it, this she takes from my older program and dails in the numbers.
BJD

·
"Buy Quality, Cry Once"
726 Posts
AAPaint said:
Hey guys. I have a few q's I want to ask. I am a painter, so I would like opinions mostly relative to painting, but it does pertain to all trades I suppose.