Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so my mom is building a pool and wants the grass to come right up to the edge with some pavers right before the edge of the pool. i used to be a landscaper and know how messy it gets mowing and weedeating. is there any kind of grass or dirt that is acceptable for this style?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
so my mom is building a pool and wants the grass to come right up to the edge with some pavers right before the edge of the pool. i used to be a landscaper and know how messy it gets mowing and weedeating. is there any kind of grass or dirt that is acceptable for this style?
so it’s not so messy^

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
Can’t see it. Foot traffic, chlorine, getting in pool when trimming. Tracking grass, dirt in pool. Flagstone or cool stone would be my choice

Mike

·
Registered
Remodel
28,957 Posts
Astroturf.

Either that, or use whatever the local golf courses use for putting greens. I'm not joking , typically in ground pools are backfilled with well draining material like sand or gravel. Just like a putting green, and you want something that can be keot short and still be healthy.

It's all ending up in the pool eventually unless it gets vacuumed or bagged

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Astroturf.

Either that, or use whatever the local golf courses use for putting greens. I'm not joking , typically in ground pools are backfilled with well draining material like sand or gravel. Just like a putting green, and you want something that can be keot short and still be healthy.

but if i use that type of grass i would need a mower that cuts a sports grass length right?

·
Registered
Remodel
28,957 Posts
Run the string trimmer as low RPMs as you can so the stuff doesn't fly around as badly. Saves on the string, too

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·