Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,600 Posts
I hope another company can come in and buy it before they sale it off in pieces. It amazes me how they can be $100,000,000 in the hole.

People are always so quick to blame the economy, but sometimes I think poor management has something has to do with it.

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
we had the same thing happen around here last fall minkato? stone shut down they were the co that did the stone for the twins new ball park it is like how.

·
Registered
407 Posts
I remember when I was an apprentice in New Jersey years ago.....we were building an elevator shaft addition to the town library. I asked what type of stone it was going to be and Roy, the man who taught me much of what I know about setting stone, said "Indiana limestone" with a certainty that let me know that Indiana limestone was the standard and that this historical building was getting the best stone......

Dave

·
Registered
8,139 Posts
The stone will come out of the ground again one way or the other. Going broke for a corp. is different then going broke for us.

american choppers filed bankruptcy and they are a pretty successful company. I dont know how it works.

·
Renaissance Man
6,818 Posts
I used to like the 1 1/2" stock for wall caps before pushing thermal blue and I always enjoyed working with it...a little soft for some of the things I do, but it seems to hold up well and age gracefully.

State Rd supply was our biggest supplier and I can remember how uniform their selection was. Never seemed to be a bad piece in the whole damn pile.

It'll continue to live on I'm sure, some how, some way...

Attachments

·
Registered
3,379 Posts
Based on the Indiana reputation, could it be that all of the good stone was used during the decades and no competitor was willing to take over the property?