Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a helper's license for a few years, and I work with my old man when I'm not in college. I'm an English and History double-major, so bare with me if I'm not technically inclined. Anyway, I have a few questions that, no matter how hard he tries, my father cannot answer fully. Perhaps you guys can help. First, what is the point of a crimp sleave? Wouldn't twisting your ground wires two or three times offer a better connection? Second, why can't you run all your homeruns through a single PVC pipe into the breaker panel, especially if they are secured on the other end of the pipe? There are some instances where this would be very convenient. And can you tape the stranded wires from a GENTran in order to make the panel neater? They make such a mess out of an otherwise "workmanlike" panel. Another question is why we only have to use arc faults in bedrooms. Wouldn't kitchen or bathroom circuits be more appropriate? That's where all the load is. Oh, and would arc fault breakers make aluminum romex safe? Okay, and one last question...why do you bond the grounding and grounded conductors in the main breaker panel? Isn't the unbalanced current suposed to go back to the transformer? Why then not keep the grounding conductor separate all the way?

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
Holy cow, Josh. I'll take these one by one.

Josh White said:
I've had a helper's license for a few years, and I work with my old man when I'm not in college.
That's fantastic.
Josh White said:
I'm an English and History double-major, so bare with me if I'm not technically inclined.
Now you're losing my respect. :cheesygri
Josh White said:
Anyway, I have a few questions that, no matter how hard he tries, my father cannot answer fully. Perhaps you guys can help.