Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

90CFM Compressor for Log Home?

4K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  cabindoc.sa 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi, Im a painter by trade and was given an opportunity to strip and restain a log home. Im in the renting the compressor stage, and went to pick it up this morning, when I went out to look at it, it was a 90 CFM not the 185 I reserved, which still wasnt ready by the way. I told them I need the 185 and the man at the desk says, "I think the 90 would work for you because youre using the 150 lb pot, if you stepped up to the 350 lb pot then the 185 would need to be used". Either way I told him I want the 185.

I asked about the nozzle on it, and he said its a 3/16th, so I asked if they had a number 5 for it, and he said hes not sure how the number ratings for the nozzles work, (red flag went up). I said, it just means its a 5/16th, so he says oh, well the nozzles pretty worn so its probably got the flow of a 5/16ths.

This stuff bugs me, like he was trying to pull one over on me, at least as far as the compressor, but honestly Im not positive. Ive done a TON of research, watched every video on youtube, read tons of forums etc. So would a 90 work? Everything in me says no from what Ive seen, its also a huge home so Im looking for production. Im using 40/70 crushed glass.

Thanks for any insights.

See less See more
#2 ·
Dry blasting a large log cabin with the equipment you seem to be talking about would probably be very slow and messy with my limited experience. I've had good results using a deck stripper and a power washer. The stripper can fuzz up some woods pretty bad. I usually sand if a smooth surface is desired. The last log cabin I did was about 3500 sq ft it took a hard day to strip by myself including a few hundred sq ft of decks.then a couple of days power sanding all the logs and a day of spraying Sikkens

#4 ·