Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ive been doing plumbing alone for 8 years now....I grow 10% every year and am finally at the point where id like some help....what sucks is if I don't grow $40,000 more this year(to pay the apprentice) it comes directly out of my profits...scary stuff

the apprentice will be right next to me all day...he will hear my pricing and discussions......when I worked for someone I never even knew what they charged per hour......I remember seeing invoices on a countertop one time and being shocked at how much my boss was making.....my apprentice will know more about pricing in 1 week than I knew as an employee in 8 years as a journeyman

I don't see any way to avoid it...I get service calls and customer calls all day long....and money is discussed much of the time..

I figure its just part of being a small company

I also most likely wont be able to always give him 40 hours every week(im planning on guaranteeing 32 hours though)....im considering calling other plumbing shops to start a relationship to possibly share my apprentice when im slow....have any of you done things like this? ...when I go on vacation I cant expect him to just take unemployment for a week (or at least I don't want him to have to)

when im slow I figure ill let him do yard work or wash the work van......anything to give him some more hours....I want him to be happy and not quit the day he passes his journeyman test

·
Talking Head
5,388 Posts
Don't automatically assume that you're losing money if you don't increase sales by $40k. It's good to shoot for more business but having the apprentice might just allow you to free up enough of your time that you can improve efficiency and work a little less to make the same. Most times, it's better to save a dollar than to earn one.