Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I noticed some guidelines are mandating 6x6 posts regardless of deck height, etc. Ex: "Prescriptive Residential Wood Deck Description Guide based on the International Residential Code". What gives? IMO 4x4 is usually sufficient.

I'm a newbie here. Started learning the ropes to Dad's business earlier this year as he claims he's going to retire one day.

·
Super Moderator
10,596 Posts
We only use 4x4's when the deck is near grade. Any post more than 8 feet long we use 4x6 or 6x6. 4x4's are subject to some serious bending as they dry. On my own deck, I had to replace a 6x6 after a year, when it bowed almost 1 1/2 inches

·
Sean
5,514 Posts
Welcome to CT foosman, how about an Intro in the proper area & adding your location to your profile?

The codes change due to changing conditions - the wood we get now is no where as good as the wood we used to get 10 to 20 years ago, etc... I personally won't use 4x4's unless the deck is within 3' of the ground & even then I seriously mull it over

Also as an FYI - the codes are the minimums, most of us don't build that way here

·
Registered
6,102 Posts
We just finished replacing a deck that was 5' off the ground. It was built with 4x4's

Steel roof, the snow came off the roof, totaly took out the deck, and snapped the 4x4's like toothpicks.

We always use 6x6, unless it is close to the ground.

FYI in Ontario, Canada, we now are required to built decks to the same structural code as a house. There is actually a seperate code just for decks. And to snow load of course.

·
Registered
1,965 Posts
I use 6 x 6's for decks even at grade level. Not that a 4 x 4 can't support a suficient amount of weight, but.....

I also like 6x6's. Mst of the time it wouldn't be cost prohibitive and it allows more room for notching to seat rim joists, headers, etc

Attachments

·
The Deck Guy
3,126 Posts