Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently finishing up a complete interior remodel for a client and it has just been brought to my attention that sometime during construction ownership of the property had changed. My question is what affect does this have on my original contract? Does it void it? Any ideas?

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
I'm not a lawyer, but seems to me that if the party entered into a written binding contract before the property was sold, that they should still be liable for costs incurred during the remodel.

What does your contract say?:whistling

·
Service & Repairs
4,001 Posts
Didn't we just have this conversation? I could've sworn this just happened to another contractor here and he got totally screwed because the original HO said "hey, I don't live there anymore and I'm not paying!"

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
13,042 Posts
Didn't we just have this conversation? I could've sworn this just happened to another contractor here and he got totally screwed because the original HO said "hey, I don't live there anymore and I'm not paying!"
Interesting concept. I think I'll go out and buy a Ferrari on credit, sell it, put the sale proceeds in my pocket and then tell the bank, "Hey, I don't own it any more, so I ain't paying for it!"

·
Project Manager
2,642 Posts
I think there are several threads about it. One was in regards to someone doing work for a tennant and the landlord refused to pay and the other (might be wrong) it was along the lines of a contract being signed (perhaps without a deposit), and then the potential client sold the home, never informed the contractor and he found out after passing on other work, etc, etc.