Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone new poster here...

Just stumbled in and was wondering if you guys know of and other 4 way dimmer switches besides the "Lutron" variety. I am looking to save a penny or two if possible.

I'm in the middle of a full 1st floor remodel on a 3000 sf house redoing (bathroom, kitchen, plumbing, electric, lighting, flooring, and floorjoists as it turned out lol)

thanks
/donny

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
I'm a 16 year veteran master electrician, and I didn't even know that anyone made a 4-way dimmer. I have generally installed the dimmer at the 3way location if possible to avoid having to use a 4way dimmer (which I thought didn't exist). That being said, Lutron is a preferred and famously high quality dimming device. If you're doing a remodel on a 3000 sq ft home, it must be a dandy house. I'm not so sure that I'd try scrimping on things that people are going to actually touch and use on a daily basis. Give this house the electrical devices it deserves and buy good stuff.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yep

mdshunk said:
I'm a 16 year veteran master electrician, and I didn't even know that anyone made a 4-way dimmer. I have generally installed the dimmer at the 3way location if possible to avoid having to use a 4way dimmer (which I thought didn't exist). That being said, Lutron is a preferred and famously high quality dimming device. If you're doing a remodel on a 3000 sq ft home, it must be a dandy house. I'm not so sure that I'd try scrimping on things that people are going to actually touch and use on a daily basis. Give this house the electrical devices it deserves and buy good stuff.