Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,907 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am interested in building a 4' tall cmu retaining wall on a project. I have a engineered drawing for a similar wall that we did not build. The engineer is calling for a T footing. The botton of the footing is 4' down. Frost line here is 3.5'. Then he wants 2' of the cmu below grade. Then 4' above grade. I have never built a masonry retaining wall before. But it seems to alittle odd to me to have 6' of concrete below grade.

Does this seem right or does the engineer have no idea what hes doing? There are no extrodinary surcharges on this wall either.

·
Chief outhouse engineer
1,418 Posts
Not so sure I would go with 4" no matter how much rebar you put in it. And most 4's would need to be punctured on the top since the core is almost always filled in at the top.

Strength wise a 6 or 8" would be much stronger and stable for a small increase in cost.

I would put dead man anchors in also for frost heave.

·
Registered
3,379 Posts
Rusk -

If you are using block with mortar and possibly brick veneer, you should be below the frost level. This is not the height of the wall. It is the depth of bottom of the footing below the the lowest area of the finished grade,