Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello,

I work in the feature film industry as a 3d modeler. I'm planning to take my skills into another direction. I've done some research regarding the average customer and if they would like the service of 3d visualization to assist them in making the proper decision on whatever home decorating, landscaping, or design issue they make potentially approach. I recieved some good feedback from them.

By no means am i a architectural designer, or renovator, )apart from having autocad experience) I would simply be a visual tool, so they can grasp the idea of what they are planning on doing much better. This would be photorealistic imagery, super-imposed on pictures or entirely computer generated.

I realize this idea isnt anything new nowadays, and i know that alot of contractors use previous projects as portfolio pieces, which is understable, but as a builder, having a customer spending thousands on a patio, driveway, deck, whatever it may be, i would want to provide 100% customer satifaction. I find this is an excellent way to achieve this, this would be geared to those companies that do everything the old fashioned way.

Id like to hear your thoughts, preferably general contractors, renovators, that have had customers ask them about this particular service.

Thanks for your time.

max

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
I've never had a customer request it. I think the problem with this type of service like many high tech services and service proposed that push the envelope is that if you poll people would you like it, everybody would say yes, then the reality of the cost and the time involved to produce it starts to show that most people if polled after going through the process would say it wasn't necessary.