Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pleased to announce that this spring I have been building decks for thirty five years. Build my first deck in April 1980. Just a basic 10x20.

At one time I had 30 crews going all season. In 1989, my biggest year, we turned $6,000,000.00. We did over 250 private decks and nearly 1000 builders decks.
I reached a point of no diminishing returns, though, and now I have only a couple of staff, and this year I expect to run only 6 crews all season. Much easier on the nerves.

·
Finishing Carpenter
1,332 Posts
holy cow, that must be one heck of a long fence. 35 years and still goin? you must have fenced off Ontario from "that province to the east" LOL
Seriously, congrats!

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Congratulations, that is quiet the achievement. Do you have any wisdom to impart to the rest of us about the business?
Wisdom? HA! I have a degree in history of all things, and when my brother and I got into this we had absolutely no clue how to operate a business. Beleive me, I have made my full share of mistakes over the years and it cost me plenty.

A few pearls (take them however you see them):

Look after the customer. Don't cheat. HE is the one paying the bills, and the happier he is, the easier you get paid.

Don't lie, or exagerate.

If you make a mistake own up to it and try to make it right.

Make sure you keep a tidy site. Fabulous workmanship coupled with a messy site: the client only remembers the mess.
PAssable workmanship and tidy site, with everything put away every day and garbage cleaned up: the client can't tell you enough how neat the men were.

PRice a job to make money. Don't give it away.