Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I'm an electrical contractor in Tucson that is being sucked into a side job with a home owner friend doing drywall. I do have some experience but I'm no expert by far! I spent the better part of an afternoon going through the forum resources but if the answer was there, I must've missed it. :jester:He's wanting to fix up his mother's house that had 12 by 12 ceiling tile in the living room that were mounted on 1 by 4s on 12" centers, run perpendicular to the 4 by 6 rafters on 32" centers. Question is will this be adequate for 1/2 drywall? Or should we replace the 1 by4s with 2 by4s laid flat on 16" centers? And will it be OK weight-wise to blow in cellulose on top of the drywall? Thanks in advance for your thoughts and guidance, I am a fish out of water on this one! --Steve

·
Registered
11,554 Posts
Hi there, I'm an electrical contractor in Tucson that is being sucked into a side job with a home owner friend doing drywall. I do have some experience but I'm no expert by far! I spent the better part of an afternoon going through the forum resources but if the answer was there, I must've missed it. :jester:He's wanting to fix up his mother's house that had 12 by 12 ceiling tile in the living room that were mounted on 1 by 4s on 12" centers, run perpendicular to the 4 by 6 rafters on 32" centers. Question is will this be adequate for 1/2 drywall? Or should we replace the 1 by4s with 2 by4s laid flat on 16" centers? And will it be OK weight-wise to blow in cellulose on top of the drywall? Thanks in advance for your thoughts and guidance, I am a fish out of water on this one! --Steve