Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a flooring contractor in San Diego. I know very little about electricity, how it works or why it can hurt me if I poke it with a stick, I just know that it will.
I am going to be taking on sanding jobs requiring the LÄGLER 'Hummel' Belt Sanding Machine. The link shows the technical data/ electrical specs. I am looking for advice on how to deal with the 220 requirements in homes without 220 outlets.
My preference is to convince my volt-deficient customer why hiring a local pro (anyone here from San Diego?) to connect a permanent 220 outlet is a brilliant idea. But I need a well-reasoned statement that conveys that message. Any ideas? What would you charge for such a job?
But, because that may not always be an option, I'd like to learn how to safely connect the 4 wires of the extension cord to the fuse panel. I watched a non-electrician get the piss shocked out of him while performing such a maneuver. Apparently it is a regular occurrence for him. I suppose he is content with the knowledge that he doesn't get shocked everytime. Myself, I can not imagine a future which includes occasional electrocution.
So, is it practical to think a professional electrician, compensated for his time, might teach me how to safely connect the cord to the box? If you received such a call, what would you say? and charge?
Thanks in advance for the help.

Attachments

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
...KILLED in an instant!
I appreciate your reply, MALCO! I bet the folks you want to thump are probably already burnt to a crisp. I'd save the gas and concentrate on the numbskulls in your area.