Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! This is my first time on the site and I am very impressed so far.
I need some advice please.
We bought a cheap little home for around 60,000 about 2 years ago. It needs LOTS of work, but that was all we could aford. We originally talked about taking a couple of years and paying it off, so we could rent it out while we upgraded to a newer house of our own. However, we have been thinking about doing some MAJOR remodeling.

It is a 1 story, 3 bedroom, 2 bath house on a lot roughly 37 X 200, with 1200 square feet. We have a brand new duplex on one side of us that we 'share' a drive way with (Major parking problems), and a little cheap house on the other side of us owned by a single guy who has piles of empty beer cans thrown in his back yard. He does NOT take care of his house at all!

We would like to add on a story to double our square feet, and knock down an existing garage (non-attached) and build a 3 car, double story garage at the back of our lot to help with our parking problem. Then, we could re-insulate the entire house, replace all the windows, and replace the heating/ac, and then brick the whole house in to help with noise reduction. (You can stand anywhere in our house and hear everything anyone says outside).

My question is this:
1) Does this sound feasable? I mean, sounds like a lot of work, and I'm wondering if we should just rent it out and forget remodeling.
2) The house was built 'room by room', and we have found no insulation at all between the walls on the outside of the house in some spots. Also, the ceilings are only 7 feet high. So, is there a way to raise the ceilings?
3) I'm also worried about property value too. If we spend all of this time and money on this major remodeling, what about the property around us? Will this bring our value down, even though we would have a really nice house?