Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There's been an explosion in new work in the older housing stock in my area. I'm a structural engineer, not a contractor. But when I meet with clients about their open floor plan dreams, and see sagging stairs, I'm compelled to tell them stair case restoration should be part of their project. Why modernize the floorplan when six feet away there's a staircase with an outer stringer that's sagging 2 inches, and the treads are pulling out.

So I'm here asking, is there a definitive resource out there on how to proceed with the restoration of older stairs that have pulled away from the wall stringer? I assume you have to pull everything apart to do a thorough job. But where do you start. I want to advise the clients on how that type of project unfolds, and what they should expect.

My questions:

1) Do you start from the lower step, and disassemble all of the treads and risers, then level out the out stringer and carriage, then reassemble?

2) For floating newel stairs, is it normal to replace the framing or headers, and if you do, do you go with engineered lumber, or just commodity lumber.

3) I've read about turnbuckles and tie rods to hold the stringers together once you have it leveled out. Is this normal practice? Shouldn't modern fastener hardware be sufficient?

Thanks in advance

·
Super Moderator
24,405 Posts
Yes, on a large remodel the stairs should be brought up to snuff.

#1: yes, generaly start at the bottom and work your way up.

#2: framing and headers are replaced if they are damaged, show signs of stress or are undersized. On stairs i prefer engineered lumber due to its stability over sawn lumber.

#3: Never seen turnbuckles/rods on stairs structurally. Proper materials, means&methods, and proper use of fasteners and hardware should be sufficient, but site scenarios or design could change this.

·
Design Build