Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Day Gents! I am a carpenter who sometimes lays tile. I've done a number of jobs that i was happy with(as was the client). I have one coming up that involves 18" floor tile,and iwas going to use the fiber rock backer board as well. I know that i should probably back butter the tiles. But any other help would be awesome. I have also seen some guys put backer down dry and some thinset it down,..any preference? And should i use a notched trowel bigger than 1/4x1/4?

·
Super Moderator
10,678 Posts
We just had 18x18 tiles put down in a job that I am GC on. You should do what I did. I subbed it out to a friend who knows how to install tile. I have been a carpenter for 25 years but have never done tile and wasn't going to practice on a job. I did watch and pick up some pointers. I am planning to install tile in my own kitchen and 2 baths in a few months.

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good lookn out:rolleyes:. I've set tile with good results many times,.. just not 18". I know that the bigger the tile the more prone it is to crack if not set right. So if anyone else has any tips............

·
Banned
917 Posts
Back butter, and you want few voids as possible under tile. Its tricky to find the zone, thats where your not fighting every tile to get it down level yet it has a full mud bed. Hardly anyone takes the time to do it right, 9 out of ten tile jobs (big tile) I see are actually terrible.

·
Dufus Extrodinaire
159 Posts
18" uses 1/2"x1/2" notch. Bed the durock and use the correct screws. Be sure to let the thinset steep for a bit before using for tiles.

·
Tile Contractor
1,249 Posts
I have also seen some guys put backer down dry and some thinset it down,..any preference?
This isn't a matter of personal preference. What does the book say?

I know that i should probably back butter the tiles.