Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 60 different 12x10 decks with no steps to bid on for a property manager. How much would you charge per deck to pressure wash and stain. This includes spindles, rails and floors. I'm new to bidding these type of projects, I came up with $425 each but it seems to high to me. What do you think. :Thumbs:

·
Painting Contractor
1,176 Posts
I came up with $364 per deck. Obviously that is a very rough estimate as I havn't seen the deck. This is with power wash and up to 3 coats of stain. Raling and deck surface only. About a 7-8 hour job, per deck, depending on your skill level.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Are they new..no existing stain?

I think the 350-450 is in the right range for a detailed job..apply cleaner/wash/neutralize/once over for loose screws/nails/splinters fuzzies etc. But I think the manager probably doesn't care about a detailed job.. they hardly ever think about anything but price..and is probably thinking in the 200-250 or less range. I hope I'm wrong but you may laugh when he/she tells you what the budget is. I'm just guessing.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I agree with Dale. We did 250 condo units once. The decks had to be washed and stained as well. We spent about 30 mins per deck washing and about 40 min. per deck using clear sealer. We put it into a pump sprayer and sprayed away. If we missed a spot- nobdy cared. $350 per deck-- the manager will smile and say he got a price for less than half. Got to remember, they are not homeowners and they don't care how it looks, just how cheap it is. BTW we use a Simpson tool for washing. It is a circular thing with a spining head. Like a floor scrubber. Retails around $750 and will make you $$ on your first deck

·
Registered
960 Posts
AHS said: