Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hired quite a few subs last year (yes they were actual subs) and now doing my taxes remembering that I'm supposed to send them each a 1099. But then I realized that I'm a contractor and my clients should technically be sending me a 1099 for every job, which never happens. And I've also subbed for other companies and never get a 1099...so am I missing something? Do people really do this? Seems like a pain just thought I'd ask and see what you all do about it.

·
Registered
7,365 Posts
If you are a corporation, nobody is going to 1099 you. Any of your subs that are Corps aren't going to get a 1099 from you either. When you say "client" does that mean homeowners? Because they aren't going to 1099 you either. So basically you need to send 1099s to any of your non corp subs by the end of the month.

If you do your own bookkeeping you can grab a 1099-Misc tax kit from Adams at Staples. It has an online software that will guide you through it, then you print the 1099s as instructed and send the various copies where they are supposed to be sent. Then you file a 1096 with the IRS.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Seems like we're fast approaching the point where to succeed as a gc we would be better off with a background in accountancy or law rather than hands-on experience in a trade. Or are we already there and I simply missed it?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Seems like we're fast approaching the point where to succeed as a gc we would be better off with a background in accountancy or law rather than hands-on experience in a trade. Or are we already there and I simply missed it?
No joke.

·
Design/Build
1,123 Posts
Way past that point; the amount of financial risk and liability that we are exposed to on a daily basis can be extreme and most are clueless.

·
Registered
2,188 Posts