Dremel Oscillating Tool MultiMax

  • Overall Rating
    2
    14
    Rating 214 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (6)
    VS
    NO (8)

Dremel Oscillating Tool MultiMax

The Dremel Multi-Max Oscillating Tool offers do-it-yourselfers and pros a versatile and effective multitasking tool. With fast side-to-side motion, the Multi-Max can take on a variety of projects that involve repair, remodeling, or restoration.

Specifications for Dremel Oscillating Tool MultiMax

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (14)

Star_2
Dremel Oscillating Tool MultiMax Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (0)
  • 4 Star
    (1)
  • 3 Star
    (5)
  • 2 Star
    (5)
  • 1 Star
    (3)
  • Thumb_avatar37498_1
    world llcApril 27, 20112

    cheap

    if u have 1 or 2 tasks you need done, this multi tool is for you. if you think you will be using it often, look elsewhere.

    • Pros:
    • cheap
    • cheap blade
    • Cons:
    • way less power than other
    • short cord
    • NO
    • I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 1
    • 0
    • Thumb_small_chase%20thompson%20profile%201
      kcbasementsover 7 years ago

      I don't really like it. It just feels cheap. I have been waiting for it to burn up so I can buy a Bosch but it has held up so far.

  • Thumb_a
    blackbearApril 27, 20113

    throw away tool

    Gets the job done for limited use. Gets hot real fast. Short cord is a pain.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • No-avatar-62
      rewrew87almost 7 years ago

      I agree. It gets hot too quick.

  • No-avatar-62
    handymanuelApril 28, 20113

    Cheap (both kinds) but Effective

    This is not a production tool but rather a weekend homeowner model. To Dremels credit though, when we burned out the motor after just 6 months, they replaced it faster (3-4 days) than I could enter the shipping expense into QuickBooks.

    • Pros:
    • effective
    • cheap blade
    • Cons:
    • runs very hot
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_image4411
      TBFGhostMay 04, 20111

      Cheap

      I owned one for about a year or so now and it has burned out.

      It is loud, vibrates ALOT, gets really really hot and doesn't have enough power. It will work for a homeowner who uses it once every so often, but with the price of other units out there I wouldn't bother.

      For $159 you can get the Bosch corded oscillating tool with a bunch of accesories. The difference is night and day.

      Don't get this tool, if your not going to use it much and don't want to spend a bunch, just get the cordless Bosch or Ridgid for $100.

      It was good when there really weren't other options out there besides the over priced Multi-Master.

      • Pros:
      • cheap
      • Cons:
      • cheap
      • loud
      • gets really hot
      • died after a year
      • vibrates too much
      • low on power
      • NO
      • I would not recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 1
      • 0
      • Thumb_chase%20thompson%20profile%201
        kcbasementsMay 04, 20113

        Not bad for the DIYer

        I think this would be a pretty good tool for the DIY weekend warrior, I just don't think it was built for the everyday contractor.

        • NO
        • I would not recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • Thumb_ceiling%20finish
          DrywalllerMay 04, 20113

          Still going

          Ive had good luck with mine,But I dont use it every day.
          I looked at the multimaster but for what I used it for it is alright,kinda loud and lots of vibration.
          Purchased mine on ebay for $65.00.

          • Pros:
          • cheap
          • low cost blade
          • Cons:
          • loud
          • vibration
          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 1
          • 0
          • Thumb_thumb_large_229522_201934506516926_100001011334565_542356_3141960_n
            RemodelorMay 08, 20112

            Not a heavy duty tool.

            These are fabulous tools and when it works they are real time savers. They are exceptionally useful for trimming door jambs when doing flooring and cutting out wood rot. As a sander, they're alright, however the paper is a ripoff. It's much less expensive to buy 8" velcro backed sanding discs, stick them on and cut away with a razor knife. Doing this, you can get about 4 sheets out of one disc for a tenth the cost of the premade sheets. Also you can get less expensive and better blades online, just look for the Oshlun Brand.

            I've owned 2 of these because the first one burned up after about 10 hours of the motor running. I also used another fairly new-looking one that belonged to another contractor and it started belching smoke. If you are intending using this tool in the long-term, definitely put the extra money into a Fein tool. By all accounts they last much longer.

            • NO
            • I would not recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • Thumb_091210fs1r7_tilingsolutions_tshirt_final2
              TileLadyMay 22, 20114

              2nd one i bought works fine

              i bought this when it first came out years ago. I immediately returned it because it got too hot.

              About 1.5 years ago i decided to buy it again. To my surprise it worked fine. Doesn't get hot at all. I think there were bad batches or dremel corrected some initial problems.

              I use this tool alot. Mainly to trim jams and trim for tile but i use it for many other things.

              I have tried the fein at a customers house and that was definately nicer but i never wanted to spend all that money.

              Surprisingly i've had good luck with this dremel (fingers crossed)

              • YES
              • I would recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 0
              • 0
              • Thumb_6042ef2d
                KennMacMoraghMay 27, 20112

                Nice, but light duty

                I've used the Dremel but own the Fein Tool. I think we all know the Dremel is a homeowners tool, the Fein is for professionals. The Dremel actually works o.k, but I can tell you the downsides when compared to Fein:

                • Pros:
                • cheap
                • Cons:
                • less power
                • need an alan key to change bit
                • fewer bits comes with kit
                • i believe the gears are plastic not metal
                • and will burn out faster
                • NO
                • I would not recommend this to a friend
                • Was this Review Helpful?
                • 0
                • 0
                • Thumb_small_34208f01
                  Dirtywhiteboyalmost 7 years ago

                  WoW this tool has a big fallowing [*~*]

              • Thumb_pictures%20198
                nature boyDecember 03, 20112

                Will not buy another one.

                Very useful tool as far as type of tool. Went from hero to zero less then a year after owning it. Comes with a 2 year warranty in which Dremel replaced for free with a week and a half turn around.They were able to look up the model # so I did not have to find receipt. Gets extremely hot after moderate use. Attachments are expensive to and don't last. I will try another brand next time this one breaks.

                • NO
                • I would not recommend this to a friend
                • Was this Review Helpful?
                • 0
                • 0
                • Thumb_propic
                  VinwoodmanDecember 31, 20111

                  Garbage

                  Used it for about 2 hours and it burned up.IMHO $100is not a throw away tool. Now Home Depot is selling the Fein for $200, much better idea.

                  • Pros:
                  • None
                  • Cons:
                  • low quality
                  • NO
                  • I would not recommend this to a friend
                  • Was this Review Helpful?
                  • 0
                  • 0
                  • Thumb_iphone%200411
                    160ABJanuary 20, 20123

                    Good for the price

                    This type of tool is indispensable for plunge cutting into finished product. If I could do it again I would pay triple the price for the Fein brand as it has a lot more power, wider cutting blades and more selection of attachments. Also you can't beat European woodworking tools. But for 120 bucks this thing is great.

                    • Pros:
                    • Smaller for tighter spaces
                    • Cons:
                    • Not enough power like a Fein
                    • YES
                    • I would recommend this to a friend
                    • Was this Review Helpful?
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    • Thumb_7757a7af
                      [email protected]December 10, 20142

                      Don't waste your money get a FEIN

                      Get a real oscillation tool

                      • YES
                      • I would recommend this to a friend
                      • Was this Review Helpful?
                      • 0
                      • 0
                      • Thumb_1bd2c91e
                        illbuildit.ddJanuary 19, 20151

                        no bueno

                        Burned up in 8 months

                        • NO
                        • I would not recommend this to a friend
                        • Was this Review Helpful?
                        • 0
                        • 0
                        Displaying 1–14 of 14

                        Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

                        I am a professional contractor
                        I am a DIY Homeowner
                        ContractorTalk is for
                        PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

                        At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

                        Redirecing in 10 seconds
                        No Thanks
                        terms of service

                        Already Have an Account?