Porter Cable Compact Belt Sander 371K

  • Overall Rating
    4
    10
    Rating 410 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (9)
    VS
    NO (1)

Porter Cable Compact Belt Sander 371K

The Porter Cable 371 K is a compact belt sander that weighs only 5 lbs, can be used with one hand and will very nearly sand flush up against a vertical surface. It features a 120 - volt, 5 amp electric motor that gives the little sander plenty of power. Uses 2-1/4" X 14 " belts. Has a dust port & a dust protected switch. Sells for about $120.00, comes in a well fitted plastic case, with an 80 grit belt & its manual. Other grit sanding belts are available.

Specifications for Porter Cable Compact Belt Sander 371K

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (10)

Star_4
Porter Cable Compact Belt Sander 371K Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (6)
  • 4 Star
    (3)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (1)
  • Thumb_140
    RS SamApril 30, 20115

    The best scribe tool

    This is a very capable one handed sander that has become my favorite - cut right to the line - scribe tool. I wrote in another review that I don't use belt sanders anymore, but this is the exception. Its small size & the ability to get close to corners & sand edges flat & true to whatever curvy or straight line you want to follow makes the 371K a specialty tool. I have a medium size hand and have no problem controlling this tool one handed. The body does get warm after extended use but that is not a deal breaker. It has an exhaust port for hooking up to a vacuum - didn't work for me until I modified it by taking off the extended cowling. Now I just have a straight pipe that fits beautifully to my Festool hose, so it is a dust free sander. I carry a crepe rubber belt cleaner to extend the use of the belts which I buy in packs of 5 from HD or Lowes. I typically use Norton's rather than Porter Cable belts because they are more often available. I highly recommend if you do any edge scribing. Hardly takes up extra room in your tool box.

    • Pros:
    • one hand operation
    • dust free with vac hook up
    • good power
    • Cons:
    • tends to get warm
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_small_catman2
      woodworkbykirkover 8 years ago

      good to know, havent bought a belt sander yet but its on the shopping list. been trying to decide between this or a full size sander

  • Thumb_fbavatar1
    DreamcatcherMay 02, 20115

    My arm says "Thank You"

    I own and have for years used the PC371's two bigger brothers; the 3x21 and 4x28 belt sanders but now I rarely ever use anything but this little wonder. As a trim carpenter I was taught to use a belt sander one handed for scribing base and cabinet fillers but after a long day of scribing new trim to old houses, my arm used to feel like it was going to fall off. Not anymore! This thing is light and powerful, the tracking is better than the bigger models and the dust collection actually works (with at vac). I really couldn't recommend this sander enough.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_aclogo
      ApgarNJMay 08, 20115

      great little sander

      after buying this little sander, I rarely use my large belt sander. I may even sell my 4x24 PC belt sander at this point!

      • Pros:
      • great power for little size
      • great for edge sanding
      • Cons:
      • None
      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_44dab186
        chris kleeJune 12, 20115

        great small sander for scribing

        i use this thing for scribing all the time. i have used it for sanding some face frames to knock down the rough areas. works great.

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • Thumb_fc725e36
          Leo GJune 20, 20115

          Perfect for scribing

          Great little belt sander. Most useful for scribing and edge sanding

          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 0
          • 0
          • No-avatar-62
            EagleiApril 22, 20141

            5 minute throw away

            I purchased this little sander because of its size to do a little over head scribing and shaping . After 5 mins it stopped working .Brought it back and the same,stopped working.I did this three times in one morning . I never had a problem with porter cable belt sanders but this little sander is garbage.

            • Pros:
            • easy on the shoulders
            • Cons:
            • only works for a few minutes
            • NO
            • I would not recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • No-avatar-62
              m1911April 23, 20144

              best mini belt sander

              this is the most useful belt sander I have

              • YES
              • I would recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 0
              • 0
              • Thumb_b24a10fc
                AnthillMay 06, 20145

                must-have

                awesome for those little touch up jobs. The drum radius is the same as bullnose drywall corners, so I use it to scribe millwork around them. remove all extra handles and accessories though.

                • YES
                • I would recommend this to a friend
                • Was this Review Helpful?
                • 0
                • 0
                • Thumb_avatar1
                  gideondJuly 11, 20144

                  I can't wait to get my own

                  I've been using a friend's sander for a couple of weeks now doing some fit ups on cabinetry. This thing is far easier to control than my previous sander and I'll definitely be getting one of my own. I like the compact design. The only problem I had was with belt walk on certain brands of belt. 3M and Norton work fine. Gator gave me some issues. It's probably not the sander's fault though. More than likely the belts aren't quite to spec.

                  • Pros:
                  • small
                  • maneuverable
                  • Cons:
                  • get's a bit warm
                  • YES
                  • I would recommend this to a friend
                  • Was this Review Helpful?
                  • 0
                  • 0
                  • Thumb_7757a7af
                    [email protected]December 10, 20144

                    Nice

                    Great little belt sander but can be a pain to find belts for!

                    • YES
                    • I would recommend this to a friend
                    • Was this Review Helpful?
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    Displaying 1–10 of 10

                    Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

                    I am a professional contractor
                    I am a DIY Homeowner
                    ContractorTalk is for
                    PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

                    At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

                    Redirecing in 10 seconds
                    No Thanks
                    terms of service

                    Already Have an Account?