Irwin Chalk Reel Mach 6

  • Overall Rating
    2
    7
    Rating 27 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (2)
    VS
    NO (5)

Irwin Chalk Reel Mach 6

  • 6X Faster than traditional chalk reels
  • 6:1 Gear ratio
  • Metal drive gear
  • Metal handle
  • Wide pronged hook
  • Nylon/Polyester braided line

Specifications for Irwin Chalk Reel Mach 6

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (7)

Star_2
Irwin Chalk Reel Mach 6 Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (0)
  • 4 Star
    (1)
  • 3 Star
    (3)
  • 2 Star
    (2)
  • 1 Star
    (1)
  • Thumb_avatar52507_1
    rselectric1January 06, 20114

    Durable

    Good chalk box. This has lasted a long time.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 1
    • 0
    • Thumb_thumb_large_229522_201934506516926_100001011334565_542356_3141960_n
      RemodelorMay 08, 20113

      Good, but the Bostich is Better

      This chalk line has a tough metal handle, but a plastic case. The Bostich model that costs about the same ($10) has all metal construction, making it more likely to survive a fall off of a roof.

      This model is geared to wind fast, so it's ideal for bigger projects. I'm not a fan of the chalk cap either, it's very tight and is kind of a pain to open.

      • Pros:
      • fast wind
      • high quality string
      • big hook
      • Cons:
      • plastic case
      • bostich has this one beat
      • NO
      • I would not recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_44dab186
        chris kleeAugust 22, 20113

        its ok

        If this is the one i am thinking, its an all metal case. its a good beat around chalk box. it gets clogged with chalk at the tip, and the line is a little week. dont ever let it get wet cause it never dries and it ruins the chalk inside.
        i havent used mine since i got the Tajima

        • Pros:
        • good and sturdy
        • Cons:
        • very basic
        • not good for trim work
        • NO
        • I would not recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 1
        • 0
        • Thumb_small_d08a2564
          John Hyattover 7 years ago

          The first thing I did with the Irwin box is replace the cotton string with thin nylon.

          After that it worked fine.

          JonMon www.deckmastersllc.com

      • No-avatar-62
        spartanccDecember 04, 20112

        chalk lines

        the oly chalk that ever lasts is the old school metal box with no gears

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 2
        • 0
        • Thumb_avatar61865_1
          Theophilus20January 20, 20122

          You will Pull Your Hair Out

          It works well untill you break the string. You cannot re-thread the string through the cap.
          I would love to meet the #%*&!)#!! who thought that this was a winner of a design for contractors.
          First time i ever broke a string on the job, i thought "ill just re-thread it and be on my way".
          After 20 min of trying to find a way to do it, it took its last flight to the scrap pile.

          • NO
          • I would not recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 0
          • 0
          • No-avatar-62
            wallmaxxJanuary 21, 20121

            Tried them all - found and love TAJIMA

            I am a tool freak. I try every new hand tool. The best chalkline I have found so far is the TAJIMA Chalk-Rite™ II GearDrive Extra Bold

            http://www.tajimatool.com/products/inkchalk/chalk_rite/view.php?page=all

            It pops a 1mm thick, bold line that is very easy for everyone to see.

            • NO
            • I would not recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • Thumb_rooster
              Lion HunterNovember 13, 20123

              top comes off on mine

              top falls of on mine, not alot of good ones out there. also it takes up alot of room in my pouch

              • NO
              • I would not recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 0
              • 0
              Displaying 1–7 of 7

              Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

              I am a professional contractor
              I am a DIY Homeowner
              ContractorTalk is for
              PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

              At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

              Redirecing in 10 seconds
              No Thanks
              terms of service

              Already Have an Account?