Makita Beam saw Makita 5402NA 16-5/16-Inch Circular Saw

  • Overall Rating
    4
    6
    Rating 46 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (6)
    VS
    NO (0)

Makita Beam saw Makita 5402NA 16-5/16-Inch Circular Saw

  Increadible saw.

 

Cuts 6x, glulam, paralam, anything under 6 1/4" thick material in one pass.  45 degrees on 4X one pass and a perfect cut.   A must have if you do any kind of beam work or alot of 6x material cutting.

 No more sanding out the difference in the kerf marks after cutting thru all 4 sides and leaving that little dimple in the middle.

This saw cuts like a hot knife thru butter with a diablo blade.  Does not kick back anywhere near as hard as a 7 1/4" circular when it does bind.

This saw is well worth the money spent as its a huge time saver not having to turn timbers over to finish the cuts.

 

Specifications for Makita Beam saw Makita 5402NA 16-5/16-Inch Circular Saw

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (6)

Star_4
Makita Beam saw Makita 5402NA 16-5/16-Inch Circular Saw Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (5)
  • 4 Star
    (1)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (0)
  • No-avatar-62
    [email protected]June 12, 20115

    Makita 16" Beam saw

    Great Saw

    • Pros:
    • depth of cut
    • ease of use
    • time saving
    • accuracy of cut
    • Cons:
    • None
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_avatar19417_1
      redwoodJune 13, 20114

      The big one

      Obvioulsly a great depth of cut.

      Saw has quite a kick to it.

      Accuracy has been so-so. It may be that it is such a heavy saw, that setting it down, knocks it out of wack.

      Still a great tool, that can do things that others cannot, cut a 6x6 in the field with one pass.

      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_27
        TheHardWayJune 13, 20115

        Great saw

        It is large and has some serious torque but that is what it takes to do what this does. I love it. A must for anyone doing timber framing.

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • Thumb_fb68aa11
          livingsoulsdieJuly 08, 20125

          Love it

          Only draw back to this saw is the safety button. My thumb is to big to grab saw by handle and hold in at the same time. I had to epoxy a piece of wood to it to let the safety protrude out a bit.n Other than that it is a BEAST !

          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 0
          • 0
          • Thumb_34208f01
            DirtywhiteboyJuly 08, 20125

            BIG Sidewinder

            This saw is great for cutting big glue lam hips and big 6X beams. Love this saw!

            • YES
            • I would recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • Thumb_5a84c993
              basswoodJuly 09, 20125

              Monster Makita 16-5/16" Saw can be tamed with cutting jig.

              The Beam Saw is an interesting saw to use. The motor on this saw is about the same size as those found on "normal" circular saws. It takes a few seconds for the blade to get up to speed, then it relies more on inertia of the spinning blade, rather than raw power to cut. Inertia of that massive blade also helps prevent kickback... it tends to slowly bog down and bind... rather than kick. This saw gives the user more feedback than most saws. A cutting jig does help keep the saw from binding too: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzecgPNpsOE

              "The jig really helps keep that monster cutting straight, which is very important with a blade that big (the most minor twisting causes it to bind). The jig features a fence, of course, and a table of MDO for smooth sliding along (timbers can be rough) and both infeed and outfeed support to keep the cut running true. The jig would work well with 10-inch Bigfoot saws too. The bottom cleats that grip the 6x6 were sized for the largest timber in my pile (undersized timbers required the use of tapered cedar shims to hold the jig snuggly)."--Brian Campbell with Andy Engel Professional Deck Builder

              • Pros:
              • Virtually All Good
              • Cons:
              • stock HSS blade
              • YES
              • I would recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 1
              • 0
              • No-avatar-62
                Gary Hover 6 years ago

                Its a great saw. Worked for a framing co. that used it to gang cut 2x6's. I got a good deal off of ebay for the blue one. well worth the money.

            Displaying 1–6 of 6

            Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

            I am a professional contractor
            I am a DIY Homeowner
            ContractorTalk is for
            PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

            At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

            Redirecing in 10 seconds
            No Thanks
            terms of service

            Already Have an Account?