Milwaukee 1/2" D-Handle Right Angle Drill Kit 3002-1

  • Overall Rating
    3
    9
    Rating 39 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (5)
    VS
    NO (4)

Milwaukee 1/2" D-Handle Right Angle Drill Kit 3002-1

D-handle power and a right angle drive head make this drill package perfect for stud and joist drilling. Powerful 7 amp motors and three speed ranges make this a versatile tool that will handle a wide range of applications. The 3002-1 features a 0 to 600 rpm motor; this gives the two speed head 0 to 400 rpm on low and 0 to 900 rpm on high. These powerful units come in an impact resistant carrying case and include a side handle for ease of operation.

Specifications for Milwaukee 1/2" D-Handle Right Angle Drill Kit 3002-1

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (9)

Star_3
Milwaukee 1/2" D-Handle Right Angle Drill Kit 3002-1 Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (2)
  • 4 Star
    (3)
  • 3 Star
    (1)
  • 2 Star
    (2)
  • 1 Star
    (1)
  • Thumb_avatar52507_1
    rselectric1January 06, 20115

    Cant do without mine.

    Mine has lasted for many years without any problems. One warning though, when hitting an unexpected nail or other obstacle in a top plate, this tool can toss you off a ladder, and the head will rotate a bit.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 2
    • 0
    • Thumb_small_d74e41cd
      angus242about 8 years ago

      What type of bit do you use with it?

  • Thumb_avatar26634_1
    jarvis designApril 27, 20114

    Indispensible tool

    I like this drill so much I bought the same one after my first one got ripped off! Don`t use it all the time, but when you need it, you need it!

    And Angus, I use self feeding auger bits

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 1
    • 0
    • Thumb_fbavatar1
      DreamcatcherMay 02, 20113

      Too Much Torque?

      This is a powerful tool with a well made motor. I expect it will last me a lifetime. The head can be rotated 180 degrees and the head coupler can be switched around for high or low speed.

      But, I hate using it. While it has the power to hog through most anything, once it really 'torques down' the head spins. Considering it is a D-handle means it spins your hand, wrist, and arm up in it's wicked twisting. I could say that's just a testament to it's power but rather I believe it's really a dangerous design fault that Milwaukee should consider addressing in the future.

      DC

      • NO
      • I would not recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_small_chase%20thompson%20profile%201
        kcbasementsabout 8 years ago

        The kickback is not too bad if you know what watch out for. I would be cautious of handing it over to a new employee, but have no reservations about using it myself.

    • Thumb_0de63093
      akrenovateMay 02, 20112

      broken

      The D handle drill is great, but the right angle attachment is kinda silly. Like others have said, the head will rotate when it binds, and I've already fried the gearing in mine. $90 to replace. I like the timberwolf much better for any heavy duty drilling.

      • NO
      • I would not recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_small_chase%20thompson%20profile%201
        kcbasementsabout 8 years ago

        Never have used the attachment. I put my second hand on the back of the head. This way you can take some of the impact away from your other hand if it binds up.

    • Thumb_chase%20thompson%20profile%201
      kcbasementsMay 11, 20114

      Might be a bit dangerous.

      If a guy was not careful, this tool could put him to sleep. I have never seen it happen, but imagine it has knocked a few guys off their ladders.

      I use it for 3/4" holes drilling through studs and joist to run new wire. Works very well. I also use it with a 2" Auger bit for drain lines. This is where it can be dangerous. Although, newer lumber is not nearly as tough to drill. Hole hot would be nice to have in addition to this tool. I only have room for one, this is my choice.

      • Pros:
      • milwaukee is the shit
      • Cons:
      • can bind up
      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
    • Thumb_16172283
      cedownsMay 12, 20112

      gearing not so great

      Worked well until my gearing went on the fritz too

      • NO
      • I would not recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_d7df17a3
        IrishslaveMay 13, 20114

        A workhorse

        The articulating arm is a little troublesome to adjust with the enclosed wrench, otherwise a good second place stand in to the Holehawg

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • No-avatar-62
          Plumbing ZombieJune 12, 20115

          Can't believe some people gav had problems.

          Okay I've had helpers knock themselves silly with this, but due to carelessness. I find the hole hawg too slow for many projects. A must for joist drilling for pipe and wiring, and if you need to drill a 4" hole through an 8" box beam this is how to do it.

          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 0
          • 0
          • No-avatar-62
            Big JohnsonJune 03, 20171

            Lemon

            Mines been junk from day one. I really haven't used it much over the 16 years I've had it and currently I have it rigged to work in the fwd. position only. It was my first and last Milwaukee tool.

            • NO
            • I would not recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            Displaying 1–9 of 9

            Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

            I am a professional contractor
            I am a DIY Homeowner
            ContractorTalk is for
            PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

            At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

            Redirecing in 10 seconds
            No Thanks
            terms of service

            Already Have an Account?