Bidding On Residential New Construction - Plumbing - Contractor Talk

Bidding On Residential New Construction

Old 02-21-2008, 04:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Bidding On Residential New Construction

I Would Like To Know How To Bid On Plumbing On New Houses From The Ground Up. In So Cal. I Am A Newly Licenced Plumber. Is There Any Systems That You Use.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 02-21-2008, 06:50 PM   #2
Pro Plumber

Trade: Plumber
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Bidding On Residential New Construction

What is the name of your business, and how long have you been in business?

Advertisement

Old 02-21-2008, 09:22 PM   #3

The Name Of My Company Is Bobbyblue Plumbing. I Worked For A New Construction Plumbing Compny For Almost 8 Years, I Have Been In Business For Myself Since December 2007.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2008, 09:35 PM   #4
Pro

Rewards Points: 500

BEST possible advice I could think of...
The irony here is that I just typed a post the size of a small novel elsewhere on why I don't like giving out pricing info, or "how to" info to newcomers online.

However, you say you have a license...so then you KNOW the time involved on each task from rough to trim.

If you don't know the times involved, don't bid.

You "should" at least have a decent grasp of times If you really have your license.
How long each fixture would take on both rough and finish, as well as general piping, add up the hours you figure, then add 20% to cover unforeseen things like being held up by framers, or having to have a joist boxed/sistered for water closets...etc.