Is Ironwork One Of The Most Physically Demanding Jobs Out There? - Welding & Steel Trades - Contractor Talk

Is Ironwork One Of The Most Physically Demanding Jobs Out There?

Old 03-29-2011, 10:13 PM   #1

Trade: stone mason
Rewards Points: 10

Is Ironwork One Of The Most Physically Demanding Jobs Out There?

Is Ironwork one of the most physically demanding jobs out there?

I am applying for a position as an ironworker, and I was curious. A lot of people tell me its one of the most physically demanding construction type labor jobs you can get? Is it really one of the most physically demanding jobs a man can get?

Anybody in this field have any input. Looking for opinions and facts. Thanks I am a brick mason by trade but moving on to bigger things hopefully

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-29-2011, 10:19 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 566

Re: Is Ironwork One Of The Most Physically Demanding Jobs Out There?

Welcome to CT.

How about an introduction.

All of the construction trades are physically demanding. Stick at it long enough and any of them will wear you out. Not only daily but long term also.

Advertisement

The Following User Says Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
Jaws (01-09-2013)
Old 03-29-2011, 10:20 PM   #3
Eater of sins.

Trade: Designer/Drafter/General Contractor(again)
Rewards Points: 190

I think iron work is right up there with lumber jacking and working oil rigs as far as the physically demanding nature of the work goes.

It friggin bites.

Andy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2011, 10:38 PM   #4

Trade: stone mason