Total Stations Or GPS - Page 2 - Commercial Construction - Contractor Talk

Total Stations Or GPS

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2014, 11:41 AM   #21
Forming and Framing
 
FramingPro's Avatar
 
Trade: Shell builder
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,273
Rewards Points: 3,582

Re: Total Stations Or GPS


Quote:
Originally Posted by pritch View Post
Yes. I'm old school and figure rise and runs from a known point, but we have units that you just set anywhere and shoot 2 known points and then (providing the job has been modeled and loaded into the machine) it just knows where everything is. These take a lot of work at the front end in the office, but it saves a lot of time in the field. We have the Trimble LM-80 system, but there are others.
By shooting the centre I imagine is more accurate then trying to balance the target to split thd edge of the template
__________________
Im after fortune and frame

http://www.proicf.com
http://instagram.com/instagrauds
FramingPro is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-04-2014, 11:56 AM   #22
Ex-Framer
 
Needles's Avatar
 
Trade: Finish Carpenter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 573
Rewards Points: 1,682

Re: Total Stations Or GPS


Quote:
Originally Posted by ubcguy89 View Post
if you are to GC on a large commercial building coming out of the ground, your surveyours give you 2 hubs (points). you are responsible for the remaining points. they give you an elevation point you are responsible for maintaing the elevations. accuracy is key, and a thedeolite is great, but total stations are replacing them because of the ease of use, and the accuracy of the shots. if you are off one minute in 50' your off 3/16 if you are off one degree in 50' your off 10 1/2''. I have used second guns that will shoot a mile within one second. who do you want laying out your airport me with the total station or your with a thedeolite? my mans anchor bolts will be right on shooting off of a hub guaranteed
Do they even make theodolites anymore? They are pretty much second hand now. Museum pieces pretty much.
Needles is offline  
Old 05-04-2014, 10:20 PM   #23
Pro
 
pritch's Avatar
 
Trade: superintendent
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coalville, Utah
Posts: 400
Rewards Points: 691

Re: Total Stations Or GPS


I always wonder why, as soon as a new tool is invented, everything that was ever done with the previous tool is somehow wrong. Imagine all the airports (for example) that have been laid out with a theodolite before total stations were invented. I'm a pretty darn good layout guy, but even with the finest tools available today, I doubt I could do a better job on the Pyramids or the Roman Colosseum or even the Chrysler Building.
__________________
My dad gave me concrete tools for my 18th birthday. 37 years later and I still haven't come up with a mean enough way to get him back.
pritch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2016, 01:06 PM   #24
Registered User
 
Lump's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2

Re: Total Stations Or GPS


We shoot in a point on either side of the footing/pier/column, say 5' from the center on both sides. Pop in a nail and pull a string. Draw a cross on your template and line it up with the string and then measure over 5' from either nail to the center of the baseplate and you're good to go.
Lump is offline  
Old 03-26-2017, 05:56 PM   #25
Registered User
 
Hardattack's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction surveyor
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Carrollton, GA
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 8

Re: Total Stations Or GPS


Sorry to bring up old post but GPS works on a grid system. At sea level 1' is 1' and it goes up from there like a cone. So with a scale factor of .9999 and 500' building line it turns into 499.95. That's over 1/2". There is ways around this. Just a little food for thought.

Advertisement

Hardattack is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
total span an total run tlfettled General Discussion 25 06-25-2007 09:01 PM
need pricing for total int. remod sterling stone General Discussion 22 04-06-2007 03:22 PM
Total Station Revisited Hardibuilt Tools & Equipment 3 02-07-2007 05:25 PM
Percentage of total building costs Kashmir Painting & Finish Work 7 01-31-2007 08:39 AM
Total Station denick Excavation & Site Work 4 06-02-2006 11:23 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?