Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border - Concrete & Paving - Contractor Talk

Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2009, 03:52 PM   #1
Member
 
bigbadjim's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Stamped Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75

Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


I have a request for this. Being fairly new to the business I've never did both at once.

Its a 26'x42' driveway. He wants 4 large 10'x18' squares of exposed in the driveway with a 2' cobblestone border all the way around and up the middle. How have you guys planned a pour like this? Do you build the forms and pour the 4 squares first, then pour the mixed border the next day? I usually use integral color so I'm scratching my head on this one!

I've been thinking of a couple differnent ways to pour it but thought I would get some other opinions first.

Thanks in advance............. Jim
bigbadjim is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 02-18-2009, 06:52 PM   #2
Member
 
CR2's Avatar
 
Trade: Stone,brick,block,concrete,decorative concrete..
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


It should be the other way arround, borders and bands first, since they are more labor intensive(forming, edging, stamping....), and that way you form just once, and you can have a path all the way arround the exposed aggregate slabs, which makes it easier on the tooling and finishing steps, besides, is easier to dowel the borders than to dowel the slabs,you'll take more time forming the borders/bands (in and out), but once you are done with them , the rest will be a lot easier and you'll be glad you did it this way.
Good Luck!

Advertisement

CR2 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to CR2 For This Useful Post:
francodamico1 (08-04-2016)
Old 02-18-2009, 08:19 PM   #3
Member
 
bigbadjim's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Stamped Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


Quote:
is easier to dowel the borders than to dowel the slabs,
(Sorry, I'm still a little green on proper names for things)

What do you mean by doweling? Do you mean inserting the rebar into the borders to connect the two pads?

Have you ever slotted forms for rebar? I've seen some guys around here on a large pour, use a temporary form between one pour to the next days pour with slots in it for the rebar. This way you have one continuous run of rebar connecting the two pours.
bigbadjim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2009, 01:18 PM   #4
Pro
 
CaliDesigns's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor, Stamped Concrete, Pool Design
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


I would set it all up in one shot and yes with slots for rebar, but set it up to pour the exposed agg first. Reason being, if you do the exposed agg. properly, with surface retarder and plastic, then washing of later depening on temps, you will loose 1/4" of surface. If your driveway is fairly flat, it could hold water if you poured it second. It is also easier to screw the plastic to the wood forms to hold it tight on the surface. Also, make sure you put the 1st coat of kure n seal on the exposed agg before you do your stamp so the intragal color or release doesn't absorb into the new ex agg.
CaliDesigns is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 06:00 PM   #5
Member
 
bigbadjim's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Stamped Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


What do you mean by "doing it the right way with plastic"? I do use surface retarter not soda pop like other guys. But I've never used plastic. Could you explain why and how you use plastic? Whats the purpose of it?

Thanks....jim
bigbadjim is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 06:39 PM   #6
Member
 
CR2's Avatar
 
Trade: Stone,brick,block,concrete,decorative concrete..
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


We use slotted forms only for simple construction joints, not for detail work like borders, is OK when you have one straight shot, but for the boxes you have to make, it will be a pain in the b...., in this case doweling is lot easier and perfectly fine.
Regarding the fairly flat driveway comment on the previous post, it should not be the case, outside concrete work should have 1/4" /lf of positive pitch to drain properly,and precautions should be taken to avoid placing the concrete lower than the bands/borders; perimeter and details should be done first, only because it's easier, but is really up to you.
The use of poly to cover the slab after the retarder application is only to prevent the retarder from evaporating too soon (wind and sun), which will allow more time for the core to set up while the surface remains washable, the longer this process lasts the better for the application; but again, is up to you.
Good Luck!
CR2 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 06:49 PM   #7
Member
 
bigbadjim's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Stamped Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


Thanks for all the good replies and advice.

If I were to pour the 4 center exposed aggregate slabs first. How long do you have to wait before dowelling into them? I've never drilled into freshly poured concrete. Just wondering if there is anything to watch out for.
bigbadjim is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 06:35 PM   #8
Member
 
CR2's Avatar
 
Trade: Stone,brick,block,concrete,decorative concrete..
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


You can drill the very next day, just be careful not to get too close to the top, because the edge can pop out, try to drill right in the middle of the slab; we have done borders at 7:00 AM and infields at 3:00 PM, in the summer of course, it depends on the temps, wind, sun/shade conditions and additives used.
Good Luck!
CR2 is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 09:38 PM   #9
Pro
 
CaliDesigns's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor, Stamped Concrete, Pool Design
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


To me, drilling a hole in a form is a lot quicker than drilling a hole in concrete
CaliDesigns is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 07:25 PM   #10
Member
 
CR2's Avatar
 
Trade: Stone,brick,block,concrete,decorative concrete..
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Exposed Aggregate With Stamped Concrete Border


Drilling the wholes on the forms is easy, the hard part is to remove the forms after concrete has set, when we have no option we drill the form, cut it in half lengthwise , splice it with plywood and screws on the outside, then, to remove it, unscrew the plywood, pop the top part and work the bottom one out, is an easier way to get them out, but a lot more work than doweling the slab, maybe you think different, there are ways and ways to do the things; and I always look for the easier ones, without compromising the final result.
Regards!

Advertisement

CR2 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stamped Concrete Chicago Landscaping 20 08-04-2016 09:14 AM
Looking for Stamped Concrete for Walls and Fences JCY Concrete & Paving 11 08-02-2010 02:03 PM
exposed deck w/EPDM on concrete (no pitch) kellry27 Decks & Fencing 0 09-22-2008 08:03 PM
Need advice! Staining concrete with Border Guardi Pro Painting & Finish Work 6 10-30-2007 02:04 PM
Stamped Concrete Questions Oregon_Rob Masonry 3 02-05-2007 08:35 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?