Concrete Stamping Opinion - Concrete & Paving - Contractor Talk

Concrete Stamping Opinion

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2010, 09:25 AM   #1
Registered User
 
TPDATLANTA's Avatar
 
Trade: Plumber
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Concrete Stamping Opinion


I had someone come out and pour an overlay over my concrete porch and then stamp it. They are coming back out today to finish. Overall it looks great but my concern is when you are looking at the front of the porch you can distinctly see the two layers. Shouldn't that be blended together somehow? Also the color will not match the face. I will talking to the contractor but I just wanted another opinion.
__________________
"making plumbing mysteries history" www.theplumbingdetectives.com
TPDATLANTA is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-13-2010, 11:25 AM   #2
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,115
Rewards Points: 1,253

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


Not much of any way around that unless you also parge the face, and that could have issues cosmetically or otherwise. Best to do just that--talk to the guy doing the work.

Advertisement

Tinstaafl is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 12:27 PM   #3
Fire up the BBQ
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 21,548
Rewards Points: 1,834

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


Instead of trying to blend the colors make them an obvious break.
At the time of the pour a "V" groove could have been let into the new pour. After the fact a diamond wheel & straight edge can be used to create a clean line.
griz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2010, 03:04 PM   #4
I like Green things
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Architectural Mill Work
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river. Auburn, IN
Posts: 22,835
Rewards Points: 5,498

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


That is what happens with an overlay like that.

The concrete guy should have a good solution for you.
__________________
Warner Mill Works
Facebook
YouTube
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 06:14 PM   #5
Concrete Mike
 
CONCRETE MIKE's Avatar
 
Trade: concrete
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 285
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


Quote:
Originally Posted by WarnerConstInc. View Post
That is what happens with an overlay like that.

The concrete guy should have a good solution for you.
CONCRETE MIKE is offline  
Old 11-05-2010, 11:35 PM   #6
New Guy
 
eliteconcrete's Avatar
 
Trade: concrete
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


Concrete overlays can be tricky, have you also considered staining?
eliteconcrete is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 03:22 PM   #7
Pro
 
covaltleveling's Avatar
 
Trade: floor leveling
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: california
Posts: 176
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


Yeah, a decorative saw cut may work
covaltleveling is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 07:07 PM   #8
Pro
 
CaliDesigns's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor, Stamped Concrete, Pool Design
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


I just finished one about a month ago, and overlayed the face, also.
Attached Thumbnails
Concrete stamping opinion-img_0726.jpg   Concrete stamping opinion-img_0727.jpg  
CaliDesigns is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 09:36 PM   #9
New Guy
 
eliteconcrete's Avatar
 
Trade: concrete
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Concrete Stamping Opinion


@CaliDesigns very nice work on the porch.

Advertisement

__________________
Ask us your toughest concrete questions
Elite Concrete Restoration

Follow me on twitter @EliteConcrete
eliteconcrete is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrete & Subfloor Problem blackte Flooring 7 11-18-2010 03:14 PM
Concrete Counter tops CharlesD Kitchens & Baths 19 07-07-2010 09:14 AM
Popcorn Texture over Concrete AM1965 Drywall 14 04-15-2010 10:51 AM
driveway concrete aydin_eng Concrete & Paving 4 03-10-2010 10:36 PM
Tire line in concrete after finishing. aydin_eng Flooring 34 03-09-2010 10:03 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?