Capabilities Of A 2 Man Crew? - Concrete & Paving - Contractor Talk

Capabilities Of A 2 Man Crew?

Old 03-26-2014, 04:45 PM   #1

Trade: Concrete
Rewards Points: 14

Capabilities Of A 2 Man Crew?

I've been doing concrete for a few years now, I'm confident with every stage of finishing (excluding certain decorative finishes) and I'm starting my own company doing flatwork. I've got one moderately skilled guy on board and I'm pretty fast. I'm thinking with just the two of us I generally won't be wanting to take on anything too big, maybe 1500 sq. ft. basement for example with good conditions and not a lot of obstacles. I understand that what we can do varies a lot on the situation but I just wanted to know some examples of what you guys would comfortable doing with one other guy?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-26-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
Fine Handcrafted Opinions

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 2,356

Re: Capabilities Of A 2 Man Crew?

Two guys is pretty small for concrete work if you're doing more than sidewalks or suchlike. If you're keeping it small, it'd be fine.

I've done a couple small additions and sidewalks with me and one helper. Had to give a $500 credit on one midsize (350 sq ft plus two steps down to a 10x20 porch) pour because it got away from us a little on the finish. It worked, but wasn't ideal. I don't do that anymore.