Looking Into Starting My Own Pest Control Company...questions - Pest Control - Contractor Talk

Looking Into Starting My Own Pest Control Company...questions

Old 01-18-2015, 07:12 PM   #1

Trade: Pest Control
Rewards Points: 10

Looking Into Starting My Own Pest Control Company...questions

Hi all, I'm new here and I joined so I could get some advice from others in my line of work. I've been working for a local pest control company for two years and I've learned a lot in that time. I stand by my work and I have excellent customer relations. I often think to myself, "why couldn't I just do this on my own?" I could charge half the price, do better work than most national chains, and still make twice the money I do right now as a $12 an hour employee working 55 hours a week.

There are many things that might stand in my way however, and I was hoping to get some advice from those who have made this kind of switch.

1. Licensing, bonding, insurance... I have no experience with these kinds of things and it just be to cost prohibitive. Can anyone give me rough estimates of what these things cost? I know it varies by region but any knowledge would be helpful.

2. Testing and certification. I have only taken the basic pest control applicators licence here in Indiana. Would I need anything more? I plan on treating mainly for bed bugs, roaches, rodents, ants and bees.

3. Web presence and advertising. I know these are huge but I have no idea what kind of costs are associated with this. I have no knowledge of web design but it's a crucial part any business and it's a must have for me. Anybody have any ballpark estimates for what having a website costs? I would also explore billboards and of course getting myself in local phonebooks.

Any advice on what it takes to make it on my own would be greatly appreciated.