Pole Barn Insulation/Interior Finish Plan - Insulation - Contractor Talk

Pole Barn Insulation/Interior Finish Plan

Old 09-06-2017, 08:34 PM   #1

Trade: electrical contractor
Rewards Points: 6

Pole Barn Insulation/Interior Finish Plan

I am an electrical contractor in Chicago and am currently building a shop in South Haven Michigan. This is my first post here but I plan on paying back the community with some help in the electrical section! Thanks in advance for taking time to read my post. Post is kind of long but hopefully it helps me get some professional feedback.

So just looking for someone to critique my insulation/paneling plan for my pole building. Cost is not really an issue just want it done right and look decent. Only thing I don't like is spray foam insulation. Few pictures attached.

Location is South Haven Michigan
Pole Building is 48x56x14 with 7 windows, 1 man door, 2 garage doors
5" concrete floor
Truss ceiling 24" OC
shingle roof with ridge vent
My plan is to create a small living area in 1/3 of the space and use remaining 2/3 as a finished year round shop.
12" overhangs all around building
vented metal soffit fastened directly to bottom of truss (no osb backer)

So for doing my finished ceiling I would like to use white interior metal liner paneling although my heart is not set on it. My plan was to install faced R11 between ceiling joists, then install metal liner for a finished ceiling and blow in some fiberglass on top of the R11. I would also install roof baffles at soffits for venting. Then I thought why don't I just install plastic sheeting right over joists, install metal ceiling panels then do blow in insulation in attic and just skip the faced batt insulation. Any issues with either installation method? Does metal cause any issues besides noise? Does the metal ceiling liner act as a vapor barrier there for creating 2 vapor barriers? Any recommendations to go another route, primed osb, wood paneling?