HVLP Trim Spray Rough To The Touch. - Painting & Finish Work - Contractor Talk

HVLP Trim Spray Rough To The Touch.

Old 11-13-2014, 11:26 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: class b contractor
Rewards Points: 591

HVLP Trim Spray Rough To The Touch.

I'm new to using a HVLP. I just sprayed some trim with a HVLP gun; some of the trim very detailed. It looks great, it tightened up to details good, looks smooth. The problem is it doesn't feel smooth, more like 2000 grit sandpaper or like a flat. Like over spray. Here's the technique used.
Acrylic latex satin.
First time. Low air pressure ( too low-45 at compressor)
Paint to thin (about 20%) Used water to thin, added floetrol.

Second time. Put a second regulator at gun, pumped up pressure (45 at inlet, gun full and open)
Thined pain 10%, used less floetrol.
The gun worked a lot better second time, but I got same results both times.
I got a smoother feel with a brush. Like I said tho, the spray looks great, but feels like a flat paint. I understand there's a lot of variables, but any ideas what I'm doing wrong? The gun is the harbor freight cheaper one. The nozzle to small? I read post from painters using it for latex.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-13-2014, 07:39 PM   #2
Accidental Painter

Trade: Who's paying?
Rewards Points: 1,262

Re: HVLP Trim Spray Rough To The Touch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by music9704 View Post
I'm new to using a HVLP. The gun is the harbor freight cheaper one. .
Do you always use the cheapest tools/materials you can find?

To get professional results, use professional tools. I'll almost bet your charging professional rates, aren't you?

Advertisement