Garage Floor Coating - Painting & Finish Work - Contractor Talk

Garage Floor Coating

Old 05-03-2012, 04:57 PM   #1

Trade: Residential Remodel
Rewards Points: 10

Garage Floor Coating

This is my first post so be gentle.

I posted an intro a few weeks ago, but hadn't been on in a while. I am a residential renovation contractor in the Atlanta area. The reason for this post is I have a customer that wants his garage floor coated with a color stain/paint and color chips. I've done a few in the past with typical Epoxy materials and they've turned out really nice. He wants a commercial/industrial type "showroom" worthy finish. Any recommendations on high-end materials or products that anyone has had success with?

Thanks in advance.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-03-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Residential contractor
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Garage Floor Coating

I've done a few in the past. Gettting ready to do a few more soon. Mostly off the shelf stuff as you probably have as well. I have found the key for a garage is, like most things, preparation. Clean, degrease and etch. 2 part epoxy. There is also a clear coat finish you can apply after for added punch and durability.

I've used Rustoleum the most. Researching that compared to Behr and Rhino now to see what I'll use going forward. Had no complaints with Rustoleum. Only once when I don't think the etching was done well enough and or homewowner went on it too soon. Had a little hot tire pick up. Like I said, preparation and proper cure time.

Advertisement

Old 05-03-2012, 08:09 PM   #3

Trade: Residential Remodel