Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet - Kitchens & Baths - Contractor Talk

Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2018, 09:50 AM   #1
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Hi guys

I'm helping with a kitchen for a client. I'm not running the show, but doing odds and ends to help. The cabinet installer installed the hood cabinet as a solid unit with no removable panel to access the ductwork.

The cabinet guy is insisting that we should remove the motor from the $1000 Range hood to install it up to the pre-installed ducting. Problem is, the motor is a sealed unit with with the duct flange attached - 1 solid piece.

This would void warranty, not to mention that we wouldn't be able to tape the joint, and would only be guessing if the flange was properly seated on the flange.

Thoughts?




Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 04-20-2018, 09:59 AM   #2
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_d View Post
Hi guys

I'm helping with a kitchen for a client. I'm not running the show, but doing odds and ends to help. The cabinet installer installed the hood cabinet as a solid unit with no removable panel to access the ductwork.

The cabinet guy is insisting that we should remove the motor from the $1000 Range hood to install it up to the pre-installed ducting. Problem is, the motor is a sealed unit with with the duct flange attached - 1 solid piece.

This would void warranty, not to mention that we wouldn't be able to tape the joint, and would only be guessing if the flange was properly seated on the flange.

Thoughts?




Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
The 2nd picture got turned. It's looking up inside the cabinet from underneath.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

Advertisement

__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  
Old 04-20-2018, 10:39 AM   #3
Fire up the BBQ
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 21,757
Rewards Points: 2,348

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


no pics.

IMO, do not void warranty, there should be access to motor, ducts etc.
__________________
SOME JOBS JUST AREN'T WORTH DOING:
griz is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
hdavis (04-20-2018), heavy_d (04-20-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2018, 01:03 PM   #4
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,443
Rewards Points: 3,112

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Modify the cabinet, or every time that unit has to be replaced It's going to be a problem.

The cabinet guy didn't know about the hood requirement?
hdavis is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
heavy_d (04-20-2018)
Old 04-20-2018, 02:24 PM   #5
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11,065
Rewards Points: 34,096

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_d View Post
The 2nd picture got turned. It's looking up inside the cabinet from underneath.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
Like this?...
Attached Thumbnails
Rangehood install in sealed cabinet-hood.jpg  
KAP is offline  
Old 04-20-2018, 02:26 PM   #6
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis View Post
Modify the cabinet, or every time that unit has to be replaced It's going to be a problem.

The cabinet guy didn't know about the hood requirement?
Oh the kitchen company knew full well. They just chose to do it this way.
We figured out a way to prehook up the duct and slide the unit up into it. Just won't be able to tape the duct to flange...

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  
Old 04-20-2018, 03:22 PM   #7
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,443
Rewards Points: 3,112

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Install may require taping to meet manufacturers requirements. I'd be careful about that due to stove fires catching hood grease on fire.
hdavis is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
EZ-Fix-Repair (05-29-2018), heavy_d (04-20-2018)
Old 04-20-2018, 09:49 PM   #8
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis View Post
Install may require taping to meet manufacturers requirements. I'd be careful about that due to stove fires catching hood grease on fire.
It does. However cab company was able to convince the homeowner that this is better than tearing out the cab. No GC on this kitchen install. My job was to gut and prep the kitchen, then bow out for everyone else to take over. I had no part of hiring the cab company or appliances. Yet here I am helping to install stuff.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to heavy_d For This Useful Post:
hdavis (04-21-2018)
Old 04-20-2018, 10:28 PM   #9
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11,065
Rewards Points: 34,096

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_d View Post
It does. However cab company was able to convince the homeowner that this is better than tearing out the cab. No GC on this kitchen install. My job was to gut and prep the kitchen, then bow out for everyone else to take over. I had no part of hiring the cab company or appliances. Yet here I am helping to install stuff.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
Lazy... might want to mention to the customer to get a performance guarantee in writing from the guy for his "solution" before they continue forward...
KAP is offline  
Old 04-21-2018, 07:52 AM   #10
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by KAP View Post
Lazy... might want to mention to the customer to get a performance guarantee in writing from the guy for his "solution" before they continue forward...
I said exactly that. Get it in writing. But she won't. Yes the kitchen company was full of excuses. "We've seen it done this way a hundred times and they had no problems".

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to heavy_d For This Useful Post:
KAP (04-21-2018)
Old 04-21-2018, 10:23 AM   #11
Bubble stick operator
 
Defenestrate's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: California
Posts: 538
Rewards Points: 132

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


It might be a bit extreme, but can you bust through the ceiling above to get a bit of tape on the flange?
Defenestrate is offline  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:32 PM   #12
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11,065
Rewards Points: 34,096

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Defenestrate View Post
It might be a bit extreme, but can you bust through the ceiling above to get a bit of tape on the flange?
Bust through the ceiling and you have to bust through the cab... the guys doing the cabs could have easily modified that so it was done correctly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_d View Post
I said exactly that. Get it in writing. But she won't. Yes the kitchen company was full of excuses. "We've seen it done this way a hundred times and they had no problems".

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
Then they'd have no problem putting it in writing instead of making you deal with it...
KAP is offline  
Old 04-22-2018, 06:14 AM   #13
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 5,608
Rewards Points: 1,648

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Then after busting through the ceiling and the cab you have to fix them. Having a hole into an attic or space between ceiling and the floor is much worse than not having the duct taped.
rrk is offline  
Old 04-22-2018, 09:48 PM   #14
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Here's a pic.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to heavy_d For This Useful Post:
KAP (04-22-2018)
Old 04-25-2018, 11:59 PM   #15
Pro
 
Fouthgeneration's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Middle
Posts: 2,336
Rewards Points: 8,337

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


No need for an ERV device? 400 to 600 CFM = a darn cold/Hot house when entertaining "Indoors"

How many BTUs are the burners and stove?? do you have outside combustion air supplied?

Why not just run the exhaust out next to the window, not even penetrate the ceiling??????

HOW DO THE HO's CLEAN THE RANCID GREASE OUT OF THE PIPING YOU CAN'T EVER REACH? Mice, Rats, maybe pigeons???
__________________
I might be an Idiot, but I know things that You don't: Please wait till after you get my know-how to insult me....
Fouthgeneration is online now  
Old 04-26-2018, 09:02 PM   #16
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 6,882

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fouthgeneration View Post
No need for an ERV device? 400 to 600 CFM = a darn cold/Hot house when entertaining "Indoors"

How many BTUs are the burners and stove?? do you have outside combustion air supplied?

Why not just run the exhaust out next to the window, not even penetrate the ceiling??????

HOW DO THE HO's CLEAN THE RANCID GREASE OUT OF THE PIPING YOU CAN'T EVER REACH? Mice, Rats, maybe pigeons???
I have none of this info. The job is done, please let me forget about it. Haha

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aztec Decks
Oshawa deck builder
heavy_d is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to heavy_d For This Useful Post:
Defenestrate (04-28-2018), Fouthgeneration (05-29-2018)
Old 04-27-2018, 10:47 PM   #17
Pro
 
B.D.R.'s Avatar
 
Trade: renovation carpenter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 1,544
Rewards Points: 1,960

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_d View Post
I have none of this info. The job is done, please let me forget about it. Haha

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk


Sleep well grass hopper.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
B.D.R. is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to B.D.R. For This Useful Post:
EZ-Fix-Repair (05-29-2018)
Old 04-29-2018, 09:45 AM   #18
Registered User
 
Hood Rat's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Hi, I handle residential kitchen ventilation projects so I felt compelled to clarify a few things and support points made by others. The cabinet requires a door or removable panel for proper installation, service repair and inspection of a typical range hood "insert" (appliance industry name for guts of a hood shown in first pic). Most inserts are designed under the premise that they may be lifted and secured into an opening in the bottom of the cabinet, then ducted and wired by tradesman. Design for assembly. When not provided for by cabinet supplier, many inserts get hacked together. Flex duct, UGH! Don't alter the insert. You WILL violate the warranty! Make-up air - The single blower motor looks like it could be under 400 CFM but please take this seriously.
Hood Rat is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Hood Rat For This Useful Post:
Philament (04-29-2018)
Old 05-29-2018, 06:40 AM   #19
Registered User
 
EZ-Fix-Repair's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial Appliance Repair & HVAC
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Las Vegass
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 18

Re: Rangehood Install In Sealed Cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by B.D.R. View Post
Sleep well grass hopper.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You have no idea how many appliances we cannot repair out West as compared to the East Coast due to poor labor and quality issues. The contractors starting from Texas on out to California especially, are garbage. Real shoddy-jerry riggin' work. Some stories you would not believe. I have to throw away a lot of good appliance repair jobs because, we would 1st have to remodel the kitchen in order to get to a customer's built-in jerry-rigged appliances. When doing business out-West be sure to work with Union labor. Its worth the price.
-Fred
EZ Fix

Advertisement

EZ-Fix-Repair is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sink Cabinet with Farm Sink Leo G Carpentry Picture Post 59 07-10-2017 08:11 PM
The Showcase Cabinet Kent Whitten Carpentry Picture Post 54 12-30-2012 02:30 PM
pricing cabinet install pdxjobs Carpentry 18 04-11-2010 10:02 PM
New Cabinet Install Today In_Mexifornia Carpentry Picture Post 7 06-20-2007 06:42 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?