Pay Q's - Installing Kit. Cabinets "by The Box"? - Kitchens & Baths - Contractor Talk

Pay Q's - Installing Kit. Cabinets "by The Box"?

Old 09-19-2008, 06:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Pay Q's - Installing Kit. Cabinets "by The Box"?

Hello, I've been installing wood floors for the last 7 yrs., before that did a lot of casework and finish carpentry.

While doing installation of casework for hospitals, colleges, etc. my company paid on the rate scale per/hr. on the East coast.
Here's what I'm looking at now:

I have benn offered a job with a custom cabinet company ( in Las Vegas), they do some of their own millwork. He's paying "by the box", so different prices on different boxes. I worked "piece work" doing floors, but it was a known rate per sf per type of flooring.

Has anyone here worked by this pay method or does anyone know if this is a normal practice to pay "by the box", I'm not familiar with it.
Also, what type of prices would you consider to be fair, good, great and/or bad that would be on a box. ( I know it depends what is inside, maby you could give example of type of cabinet along with $ for that item)

Greatly appreciate any input so I know what his offer will mean to me
and negotiate pay correctly.

Thank You - Chuck

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-19-2008, 06:35 PM   #2
Professional Instigator

Trade: Design Build Remodeling Contractor DC MD
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Pay Q's - Installing Kit. Cabinets "by The Box"?

I have questions for you.

Custom Cabinets? Who pays for them if you damage them?

Would a $500 a box be unreasonable?

Advertisement

Old 09-19-2008, 08:19 PM   #3

Quote: