Opinion On Crown - Kitchens & Baths - Contractor Talk

Opinion On Crown

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2018, 06:43 AM   #1
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Opinion On Crown


Okay, replacing a kitchen with 30" upper cabinets and existing ceiling has crown molding.

New kitchen has 36" upper cabinets, (painted grey) so I am 5" short of the ceiling give or take.

My first thought was to do a short fascia above the cabinets and install matching cabinet crown. (grey) But then we really should pull the remaining crown in the kitchen since the profile wont match and jogging it in and out of the design leaving it only on cabinets.

The I was thinking we could paint it all grey to match or leave it, paint it white and nix the fascia and stay below the existing crown leaving a few inch opening between them but its a dust collector.
Attached Thumbnails
Opinion on crown-old-kitchen-stove-wall.jpg  
Tom M is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-11-2018, 07:29 AM   #2
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 5,557
Rewards Points: 1,484

Re: Opinion On Crown


I normally do what you first thought about with the fascia. Not many people like cabinets that don't reach the ceiling, a 6" space would be a real big issue

Advertisement

rrk is offline  
Old 12-11-2018, 07:42 AM   #3
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Re: Opinion On Crown


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrk View Post
I normally do what you first thought about with the fascia. Not many people like cabinets that don't reach the ceiling, a 6" space would be a real big issue
Right, pull the remaining crown, paint to match or cornice block and change color?
Tom M is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom M For This Useful Post:
rrk (12-11-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2018, 07:49 AM   #4
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 8,593
Rewards Points: 13,139

Re: Opinion On Crown


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom M View Post
Right, pull the remaining crown, paint to match or cornice block and change color?
Above the window gets new grey material. Outside the cabinet area, I would leave it. block or scribe/cope, etc..
MarkJames is online now  
Old 12-11-2018, 08:55 AM   #5
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Re: Opinion On Crown


Mark if I leave the existing crown molding it would normally be painted white. That is not going to look good coming across a gray fascia of the cabinets that is the concern.
That's why I said either paint the remaining crown in the room a gray to match the cabinets or pull it.
Tom M is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom M For This Useful Post:
MarkJames (12-11-2018)
Old 02-23-2019, 10:16 AM   #6
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Re: Opinion On Crown


Do ultimately this is what I ended up doing.

Here are a couple crummy pictures from the phone. I didn't get Edison bulbs yet or under cabinet lighting installed but it pretty much done
Attached Thumbnails
Opinion on crown-img_20190222_174420260.jpg  
Tom M is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tom M For This Useful Post:
hdavis (02-23-2019), rblakes1 (02-23-2019)
Old 02-23-2019, 10:17 AM   #7
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Re: Opinion On Crown


Here's another
Attached Thumbnails
Opinion on crown-img_20190222_174500298.jpg  
Tom M is offline  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Tom M For This Useful Post:
hdavis (02-23-2019), overanalyze (02-23-2019), rblakes1 (02-23-2019), Rio (02-24-2019), tgeb (02-23-2019), Xtrememtnbiker (02-23-2019)
Old 02-23-2019, 10:28 AM   #8
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 5,557
Rewards Points: 1,484

Re: Opinion On Crown


popular cabinet color lately, did several vanities and 2 kitchen in similar color
rrk is offline  
Old 02-23-2019, 10:29 AM   #9
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Re: Opinion On Crown


My 4th grey kitchen in 2 years
Tom M is offline  
Old 02-25-2019, 11:15 AM   #10
Head Grunt
 
Tashler's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 267

Re: Opinion On Crown


Looks good.

Don't care for the floor.

Old one or new one. Both look old.

Not GOOD old.
Tashler is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tashler For This Useful Post:
Tom M (02-25-2019)
Old 02-25-2019, 11:26 AM   #11
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 8,593
Rewards Points: 13,139

Re: Opinion On Crown


Looks great. I kind of like the retro floor, too.

What brand of cabinetry?

Last edited by MarkJames; 02-25-2019 at 11:28 AM.
MarkJames is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to MarkJames For This Useful Post:
Tom M (02-25-2019)
Old 02-25-2019, 12:39 PM   #12
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,542
Rewards Points: 3,000

Re: Opinion On Crown


Fabuwood
Tom M is offline  
Old 02-25-2019, 04:23 PM   #13
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 5,557
Rewards Points: 1,484

Re: Opinion On Crown


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom M View Post
Fabuwood
made in Jersey City sort of

Advertisement

rrk is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
options on large crown AustinDB Carpentry 5 02-25-2013 10:23 PM
Crown molding and pilasters in party hall TIGHTER MITER Finish Carpentry 1 02-23-2013 05:59 PM
New DeWalt 716 First Day Opinion. MF Custom Tools & Equipment 25 07-08-2012 09:46 AM
Crown molding kevinv52000 Finish Carpentry 41 05-02-2012 07:26 PM
Ideas for transitions from one type of crown to another john5mt Finish Carpentry 15 03-23-2009 10:58 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?