Corian Questions Answered Here - Kitchens & Baths - Contractor Talk

Corian Questions Answered Here

Old 08-03-2009, 11:39 PM   #1
Corian Expert 30yrsInBiz

Trade: Corian Kitchen and Vanity Tops (Solid Surfaces)
Rewards Points: 10

Corian Questions Answered Here

Hello all,

If anyone has Corian or other Solid Surface questions, ask away and I will do my best to answer. There are many myths and misconceptions floating around about these special countertops and I've been answering solid surface questions for nearly 30 years. I've seen the industry grow from Corian's early offering of 3 colors, to more then 130 colors offered today.

There are many major competing Solid Surace brands, such as:
  • Corian (DuPont) the original
  • Avonite
  • Formica Solid Surface (Originally called 2000x, then Surell, later acquired Fountainhead)
  • Wilsonart Solid Surface (Formerly known as Gibraltar and Earthstone)
  • Staron (Samsung)
  • Hi-Macs (LG Chemical)
  • Meganite
  • Mystera (Hudson Surfaces)
  • and the list goes on.......
Swanstone is not considered solid surface material because it contains fibers beneath the surface which may appear if the counter is later refinished.

Most of the major solid surface brands are made up of high performance acrylics blended with Alumina Trihydrate (ATH). Some brands offer sheets made up of Polyester with varying degrees of ATH. Others offer materials that blend poyester and acrylic together with ATH. Each of the brands' sheet goods and bowls can be fabricated with essentially the same techniques.

Although Natural Stone has stolen the spotlight in recent years, more and more homeowners are coming back to ask about solid surface counters. Hospitals and Universities world wide are specifying Solid Surface counters because of the non-porus properties that make for an ideal, germ resistant and mold resistant surface.