30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop? - Kitchens & Baths - Contractor Talk

30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2008, 04:34 PM   #1
Registered User
 
GoSooners's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical, HVAC
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


Just wondering if any of you guys have seen such installations? A customer requested installation of 30" vent hood @ 300CFM with the original cooktop being 30". They plan to cut their granite and make cabinet mods to fit a 36" drop-in cooktop but don't want to mod the uppers. What are your thoughts?
GoSooners is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-05-2008, 04:39 PM   #2
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,683
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


Sell them whatever it is they're buying. There's no code prohibition against it, but most every range manufacturer's instructions wants no cabinets in the zone above the range top for 16". That's probably not a problem in your case if you have the standard 18" between the counter top and the cabinet bottoms.

Advertisement

mdshunk is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:26 PM   #3
Registered User
 
sausagefingers's Avatar
 
Trade: Cabinetry and trim
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


Other than it will look kinda goofy, it shouldn't be a problem.
sausagefingers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2008, 10:28 PM   #4
Home remodeling
 
onenia's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler & Home Builder
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


Always give the customer what they want. If you're worried about them complaining later, you can always have them initial your contract stating they want a 30" and if they decide to change to a 36' that there will be an extra charge. Then your customers are aware of your recommendation and know that their request is unique. It's worked for me in the past. I've actually had them come back and say change it and add the extra charge to my bill.

Nia
onenia is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 11:09 PM   #5
Maker of fine kindling
 
Gus Dering's Avatar
 
Trade: cabinet maker
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 6,199
Rewards Points: 12,490

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


I'll vote the other way. When you knowingly go against the manufacturers installation guidelines, you are putting yourself at risk in the event they have a fire as a result.
Read the cut sheet carefully and point it out to the client with concern for their safety first and your exposure second. Be prepared to tell them the cost of doing it right and sell that concept with all the skills you have. If they insisted on ignoring all the printed info and your recomendations , I would turn it down.
Thats my 2 cents
Gus Dering is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:24 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Dan13's Avatar
 
Trade: Cabinetry
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


I will have to second Gus, I am one to do it right the first time even if it means losing a job if I am unable to convince a customer to change there minds. Let them know how you feel and what the pros and cons are in doing what they are asking you to do. IMO I would rather see the uppers alittle wider than the range is to keep the finish from deteriorating or becoming caked with grease and splatter. I would also tell them it would be in there best interest to revamp the upper now along with revamping the base cabinets as it would be cheaper to do so while your already reworking the base's. It may be a hard sell but you should atleast try your best and you maybe surprized.
Dan13 is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 09:18 AM   #7
Registered User
 
oldschoolstyle's Avatar
 
Trade: kitchen and bath remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


to all those people who said its ok to have a smaller hood than the cooktop need to keep quite if the hood is smaller then how are the burners that dont fall under the hood going to vent if nothing is drawing them 30 inch cooktop 36 inch hood 36 inch cook top 42 inch hood come on people thisisnt HD or lowes becareful of the info you give out
oldschoolstyle is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 09:20 AM   #8
Handle It!
 
MALCO.New.York's Avatar
 
Trade: Everything The Union Guys Do Not Want To Do
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY ~ Haverford, PA
Posts: 9,588
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


It is the CFM that matters when speaking of 6 inches.

300 CFM is pretty darn strong. "Magic Lung"
__________________
Something to One may be Nothing to another!

Ultimate Wisdom---------
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW-cnizLDEE
MALCO.New.York is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:20 AM   #9
Member
 
KitchenSync's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer for a residential design/build firm.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75

Re: 30" Hood-300CFM With 36" Cooktop?


Is the cooktop gas? Because that's a whole 'nother flash in the pan. (Sorry.)

Advertisement

KitchenSync is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood 60" above cooktop? Cache HVAC 18 07-04-2014 05:58 PM
Best welding hood? mjkelly78 Welding & Steel Trades 11 07-24-2013 04:14 PM
inter-lock for type on hood Moscow HVAC 3 03-28-2008 10:41 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 11:47 AM
Venting large kitchen range hood ChuckEA HVAC 5 01-12-2006 11:53 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?