Quick Question - Tiling - Contractor Talk

Quick Question

Old 07-08-2016, 08:39 PM   #1

Trade: Tile

Quick Question

Quick question, I'm a new contractor and I'm not to keen on bidding and pricing a job. I sub-contract for a flooring company in my county and it seems as tho they are taking advantage of my lack of knowledge on pricing. My partner and I have over 20 years experience laying tile and are licensed and insured. This company just gave me a job demoing 90 sq ft shower. Then reinstalling all new backing board ceramic tile, 2 marble soap dishes, 3 different sized tiles plus bull nose all for 510.00. This sounds really low to us. They are paying 2.75 a square ft for tile 2.00 for demo and 1 dollar for backing board install. Does this sound like they are taking advantage of me?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-08-2016, 08:57 PM   #2
Wormdrive Operator

Trade: Contractor
Rewards Points: 6,886

Re: Quick Question

Quick question, can you introduce yourself? I would love to know who you are!

Advertisement

Old 07-08-2016, 08:58 PM   #3
Wormdrive Operator

Trade: Contractor
Rewards Points: 6,886

And yes, they are raping you.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to heavy_d For This Useful Post:
BlueRidgeGreen (07-10-2016), charimon (07-08-2016), Defenestrate (07-09-2016), Splinter (07-09-2016), Unger.const (07-09-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2016, 11:11 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Tile and Tool junkie
Rewards Points: 1,168